Wiki Posts
Search

Nitro Maintenance Thread

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2017, 09:11 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default Nitro Maintenance Thread

I didn't really find much about maintenance on here as far as pulling down your engine and checking bearings, looking at clutch shoes for wear, going over your car as a whole. I'm new to the nitro side of this hobby and I've found that there is a lot more maintenance that has to be put into a nitro car vs. an electric car. I was curious as to what you more experienced nitro racers do to your car, say, before a big race, after a big race, before your practice runs, during the week etc. Clutch bearings and clutch shoe disassembling and inspection, after run oil in your engines..

I take this hobby pretty seriously and I'm sure we all spend quite a bit of money to race and it's a bummer when something falls off during a main event that could've been prevented with some good maintenance. I race at the pro level at my local events and it's come apparent to me that you need your stuff in very tip top shape to even be competitive at all. Post your tips and your maintenance routines as needed. All will be gladly appreciated.

I will update my routine as time allows.

Last edited by BallZach; 04-07-2017 at 12:32 PM.
Old 04-07-2017, 02:47 AM
Tech Initiate

This is my routine, and so it may not work for others, however I have had success with it.

From club-day to club-day:
Take out engine, pipe, tank (as one unit), take out radio tray, remove tyres (if applicable), and remove shocks.
Spray with simple green and use a medium-bristled brush where needed to get the stubborn stuff off. Blow it off with a compressor. Repeat the cleaning process as much as necessary. Note: Don't be too picky, but avoid getting excess simple green around bearings as it can cause them to fail prematurely due to rust/lack of lubrication.