Community
Wiki Posts
Search

New to nitro racing. Recommend please.

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2012, 08:47 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default New to nitro racing. Recommend please.

Hi I am new to nitro, have had electric short course. I want to race nitro 1/8 buggies and want to get in without making mistakes in first purchase. What is recommended by guys that race? I was looking at losi 8 2.0 rtr purely for the price with what it comes with. Is this a good strong buggy? The other one was the Xray 808 but this is only kit so would cost me a lot more to have it running. If I need to spen the extra dollars then I am happy to look at kits but if I don't need to then I want to avoid it. Any other recommendations? Is the xray and a novarossi motor worth it or is the losi what I should buy?
Any info appreciated.
Old 02-05-2012, 08:49 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 37 (97%+)

The 8ight 2.0 RTR is probably the best RTR and best bang for your buck on the market right now and right out of the box it will be competitive. And it comes with everything you need except fuel. Its a really good first car in my opinion.
Old 02-05-2012, 09:06 PM
Tech Addict

Thanks. It is what I am thinking but being a rtr I am just a bit worried that I am getting a cheaper version. I can get a X-ray for $400 - $450 which is a good price here in Australia. But this will cost me a lot more after buying everything else needed.
Is the quality there with the losi or is the X-ray a lot better?
Old 02-05-2012, 09:19 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

IMHO the Xray is a much better buggy, it is widely regarded as the strongest out there. However plenty of people don't break their Losi .... or Associated ..... or Mugen..... etc

If you want a RTR the Losi is by far the best.

But if you want to race, building a kit is much better as you will know the buggy inside out and will find maintenance much easier.

Certainly nothing wrong with a Nova motor mate, you could do a lot worse