Community
Wiki Posts
Search

My 5 year old Son wants to race?

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2010, 05:51 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default My 5 year old Son wants to race?

I just bought a used X2 CRT for my 5 year old and I'm now in the process of getting it all together. I'm new to the racing scene and I've just posted a WTB add for a motor and pipe. A bunch of guys have gotten back to me with motors but I'm not sure what is a good make and what is not. I'm obviously not looking for an all out race motor since he's so young and I would like to budget for around $100.00 for a motor and pipe. I think reliability and tunability are key at this point but correct me if I'm wrong.

Do you guys have any suggestions about which motor would be good given the situation?

How about an AE.28 pro with the stock pipe? Apparently it come from an SC8, would the exhaust work in a truggy?

Thanks guys,
Glen and Wyatt
Old 09-08-2010, 06:03 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)

the AE pro .28 is an ok starter motor but will leave you wanting more soon. Plus it will only last you about 2 or 3 gallons. Becarefull buying used motors. Good luck.
Old 09-08-2010, 06:04 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)

For just starting out, you are right, jusr get an engine that holds a tune well and is reliable.If you get something to fast in the beinning when you ar ejust learing it can actually make learning harder by having to focus to much on controlling the power and spinning out rather than driving and learning to get the car around the track. Later, after the skill builds up, then get a more powerful engine.

This will be a big debate as people have opinion and favorite brands of engines. But my advice is for a truggy and your son just starting out, Sure, a associated .28 with stock pipe will be fine. Or even a dynamite .21 or a n21r nova. just get what you can afford and let him concentrate on the driving. You got the right idea!
Old 09-08-2010, 06:31 PM
Tech Fanatic