Community
Wiki Posts
Search

AZ tracks, Tire selection help..

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2009, 04:57 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Default AZ tracks, Tire selection help..

I am new to the 1/8 Nitro Buggy, I picked up a FT RC8 about a week ago. I am looking at buying a few sets of tires but there are sooo many to chose from. I will run SRS and ET with my buggy, What tires should I pick up?

Thanks for the help..

Nick
Old 07-08-2009, 05:11 PM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)

If you want a complete arsenal of what works best on our tracks, here is a really good guide for ET, SRS and The Nitro Pit

Proline Calipers M2 and M3 compound
Proline Revolvers (same compounds)
Proline Bow-ties (same)
Proline Crimefighters (same)

AKA I-beams Soft and medium
AKA Cityblocks soft and medium

The AKA's last longer and are better balanced, but the inserts are really hard and you may need to lower your shock oil to compensate for the bounce.

If you want to start with just one set of all around good tires. I would go with the AKA I-Beams

Proline Holeshots are good tires also, but they are only good for 1 race day, then they wear out.

For dry track practice at ET moto I would suggest a set of Proline Knuckles in M2 compound
Old 07-08-2009, 05:21 PM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)

I highly recommend the new proline caliber tires, they are awesome. you will need either AKA I-beams or AKA city blocks as well depends on how the tracks are wet or dry and how hard packed or not they are.

I have only ran AKA since they came out I sold all my proline tires. Since Proline released their new revolver and caliber tread I am impressed. Proline raised the bar again.
Old 07-08-2009, 05:39 PM
Tech Regular

Originally Posted by Jaz240
If you want a complete arsenal of what works best on our tracks, here is a really good guide for ET, SRS and The Nitro Pit

Proline Calipers M2 and M3 compound
Proline Revolvers (same compounds)
Proline Bow-ties (same)