Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Engine tuning tips

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2007, 08:04 PM
Tech Adept

Engine tuning tips

I've recently gotten into nitro with a Hyper 7. I am pleased with the car and how it handles. It orignally had a hyper 21 8 port race engine, which I got tired of trying to get that thing set right, so I switched it out for a sportwerks 21 v2. The sportwerks seems to be a pretty good engine with plenty of power. The issue that I'm running into is tuning the blasted thing, particularly for weather changes. I'm not too far off I think. But, then again, I'm not that experienced in the nitro world. I've been basically tuning the high needle to get the engine up to temp which is around 200-220. Then setting the low end to approx 2 to 3 seconds with a pinch test. Then setting the idle to a reasonable speed without bogging the engine out and keeping the clutch disengaged. However, if the weather changes by anything, I'm not quite sure how to deal with it. What changes are necessary to work with this as I've ended up out of races due to the engine leaning out on me and overheating. Thanks in advance!!
Old 07-12-2007, 08:32 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)

the main thing is to temp the engine often and make adjustment as needed....i always get the engine good and warmed up before a qualy and then i get the engine temps knocked down then and there....as far as other things you will need to change, most likly most all of the tuning will be done from the HSN, you also might need to change plug temps once an awhile depending on how humid it is the more the hotter the plug, but you tend to loose power with a hotter plug cause i have noticed i need to fatten (richen) up the HSN, along with the fact that you have advanced the engines timing...well thats about all i really do for different temp and weather, but im sure there will be alot more advice on the way....

Keep it fun, Jason
Old 07-12-2007, 08:43 PM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 86 (100%+)