Search

what do you think? too hot?

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2009, 10:03 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default what do you think? too hot?

Hi!

i was recently looking at my savage thinking about what i could do to make it different then every other savage out there. then i started looking at that huge gap left by the XL chassis. then i looked at how the fuel tank hangs off the chassis. then i got to thinking, why do they hide everything else inside the TVPs(except the pipe, thats another day) but leave the tank hang off te side. so i started playing.

the only thing that concerns me is that its soo damn close to the header. i can mount the tank here in many different ways but the simplest way would make the tank actually rest up against the header a little bit.

so my question is, does the header get hot enough to melt the tank? if so could i just run some heat insulation around the tank/header? or get a metal tank?

thanks in advance
mopar
Old 03-07-2009, 10:16 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

Move it or get some insulation.

I would try the insulation first.
Old 03-07-2009, 11:46 AM
Tech Elite

Originally Posted by howtowakeakar
Move it or get some insulation.

I would try the insulation first.
i dont think it will do anything. i mean, the feul tubing can rest up against the black and not do anything.

ill try some thermal wrap later.
Old 03-07-2009, 12:12 PM
Suspended

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)

I would use some accual car tech and use some header wrap to insulate the pipe. I would be alittle concerned about heating up the fuel. Deffinantly don't get an aluminium tank as that would heat up the fuel even more.
Old 03-07-2009, 01:54 PM
Tech Elite

Originally Posted by The Slayer
I would use some accual car tech and use some header wrap to insulate the pipe. I would be alittle concerned about heating up the fuel. Deffinantly don't get an aluminium tank as that would heat up the fuel even more.
thats what i planned on using.