Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Monster Trucks
T-max engine info >

T-max engine info

T-max engine info

Old 02-05-2009, 05:19 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default T-max engine info

HI I am new to this site and have owend my 2.5 t-max for around 4 years i think and havn't needed to buy anything for it. But today i was able to pickup a used 2.5 t-maxx for $20 it is missing the ez start batery pack, bent left front shock, bent right rear tie rod, antenna is just flush to receiver, and the engine was completely seized. I was able to take the glow plug out and put after run oil in the engine they I took a screw driver and was able to get it to crank over by spinning the flywheel. I got it to were I can spin it with my finger but it is very hard compared to my other truck with the glow plugs out. do you think the engine is shot or do I have a chance? Do I have to buy new? can I rebuild it?

If i have to buy a new one will thise one work? http://www.dynamiterc.com/Products/D...rodID=DYNP5234
What would i have to do to make it fit?
That one seems like the biggerst c.c.s for the $
Sprinter10 is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 05:54 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
pinky2252s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posts: 3,278
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Sprinter10
HI I am new to this site and have owend my 2.5 t-max for around 4 years i think and havn't needed to buy anything for it. But today i was able to pickup a used 2.5 t-maxx for $20 it is missing the ez start batery pack, bent left front shock, bent right rear tie rod, antenna is just flush to receiver, and the engine was completely seized. I was able to take the glow plug out and put after run oil in the engine they I took a screw driver and was able to get it to crank over by spinning the flywheel. I got it to were I can spin it with my finger but it is very hard compared to my other truck with the glow plugs out. do you think the engine is shot or do I have a chance? Do I have to buy new? can I rebuild it?

If i have to buy a new one will thise one work? http://www.dynamiterc.com/Products/D...rodID=DYNP5234
What would i have to do to make it fit?
That one seems like the biggerst c.c.s for the $
I would figure its seized, i would actually recommend a OS 18 TM
pinky2252s is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 06:24 PM
  #3  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Why do you recomend that engine isn't the 4.57cc Dynamite Platinum .28XP more powerfull? How about the new stock 3.3 engines? I also need an engine that is ok to tune and not a time bomb but would like to get the most power i can afford.
Sprinter10 is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 07:17 PM
  #4  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I put a Fantom 18 in my 1st Tmaxx. As soon as I got thru breakin, then next run the rear diff went, stripped teeth off the ring gear and messed up the pinion. I repaired it an in less than another tank, did it again. This time I shimmed it and got a 2nd tank on it before it stripped again. To make a long story short, I had to re-do both diffs using a alum diff case and a alum diff cup with 3mm screws and shim them correctly before I stopped stripping diffs. Then I started twisiting centers and wheel axles - CVDs needed to fix that. This took over a month to get all this sorted - truck was mostly sitting, broken while this was going on.

Engine you're talking about 28xp will do all that and more (strip the trans), so if you're not prepared to seriously upgrade drivetrain, stick with 3.3 and it will prob need some upgrades (diffs). The 2 screw diff (plastic case has only 2 screws) are the weakest the TMaxx has used. 16.8v Emaxx diffs are far better and the 3.3 deive axles are nice and strong.

The 3.3 an 18TM were close in power. I've run both and like the TM only because its easier to tune and doesn't need constant fiddiling like a 2.5/3.3 does.
Duster_360 is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 07:39 PM
  #5  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default

ok the so can my stock 2.5 truck handle the 18tm? without breaking? I do not have the money to put into the truck if everything starts breking. thanks alot for helping me guys I would have been screwed just buying stuff breaking one thing after another.
Sprinter10 is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 08:12 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
pinky2252s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posts: 3,278
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Sprinter10
ok the so can my stock 2.5 truck handle the 18tm? without breaking? I do not have the money to put into the truck if everything starts breking. thanks alot for helping me guys I would have been screwed just buying stuff breaking one thing after another.

Yep the os 18 tm is a direct drop in you just have to buy the one with the maxx header, (theres one for the revo and one for the maxx) it wont break anything dont worry

Keep the 2.5, you need the fly wheel off of it for the os 18 tm
pinky2252s is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 08:14 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
pinky2252s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posts: 3,278
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

While looking on OS's website i came across this
http://osengines.com/engines/osmg2082.html

More power and a direct drop in! Im sure the engine will be great, the reason you might want this one is because no online stores stock the TM because the TZ came out, so if you want a new TM just PM me and i can grab one from my LHS for ya
pinky2252s is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 08:18 PM
  #8  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Originally Posted by pinky2252s
While looking on OS's website i came across this
http://osengines.com/engines/osmg2082.html

More power and a direct drop in! Im sure the engine will be great, the reason you might want this one is because no online stores stock the TM because the TZ came out, so if you want a new TM just PM me and i can grab one from my LHS for ya
so would the .21 tm break anything?
Sprinter10 is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 08:22 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
pinky2252s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posts: 3,278
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Sprinter10
so would the .21 tm break anything?

It truly shouldnt, and OS engines are a BREEZE to tune!

Im not sure if they are out of your price range though
pinky2252s is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.