Like Tree2Likes

Vitavon Axle for USA-1?

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2023, 09:45 AM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default Vitavon Axle for USA-1?

Hi All,

My USA-1 snapped an axle tube on the very first run (in the first 5 min). Very disappointing. I splurged for the vitavon axle for the USA-1, but I cannot for the life of me get the diff to fit. I am a pretty experienced modeler, and I don't *think* I'm missing anything obvious (which is of course when you make the dumbest mistakes) but I am at a loss right now...

Anyone have this axle? Here are pics of my USA-1 diff NOT fitting into the axle. Specifically, the diff seats nicely into both the main axle body and into the diff cover / 3rd member separately, but when you bring them together, the cover has no hope of ever fitting. It has little arms to the left and right that mate with the axle tube, and those slide 5mm or more into the tube. But the diff sits flush with the outer surface of the tube, so there's zero millimeters of space for those arms to drop in.

It isn't like the fit is close within say 1-2mm. It is off as if the part is for a different vehicle almost.

Here's a set of pics I sent to vitavon service... but not sure how helpful they will be.

Thanks in advance for any assistance.
swerv512 likes this.
Old 04-18-2023, 06:50 AM
Tech Addict

Either the diff gear is too big or the bearings are? Or the bearing slots are too small? Send it back. I looked at it but hated the design. No axle supports to change it to 4 link.
Old 04-18-2023, 09:10 AM
Tech Addict

Thanks!

I figured it out - the fit is extremely tight, and you have to push VERY hard to get the diff seated correctly (much harder than I was pushing initially). I am a little worried about having to take things apart - not sure I can figure out where to put a screwdriver or other tool to actually get the diff back out without damaging anything. Oh well.