Community
Wiki Posts
Search

new to rc wondering about lipo

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2011, 05:12 PM
Tech Rookie

Questions?? new to rc wondering about lipo

So I'm fairly new to RC. Im saving up for a Mini E-Revo and was thinking of getting lipo's seeing they have a better run times. I have a few questions about chargers and brands. Fist thing first a battery is no good with out a way to charge it. So what kind of price range am I looking at? I'm not looking for top of the line just something decent and dependable. Second, What kind of charge times will I be looking at. How different is charging a lipo compared to a NIMH, I herd they can be different but I'm not sure because ive never used lipo's. What are some good battery's for the mini E-Revo I don't know if I want to go to 3s because Ive read a esc fan is a must and I'm looking for max run time and good speed. What kind of mAh Would you all suggest. That's about all I can think of at the moment. But any and all info is welcome the more I know the better my decision will be.
Old 07-05-2011, 08:24 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)

You can get a decent charger for $24 here: http://www.hobbypartz.com/60p-dyc-1004.html
I have it and have nothing but good things to say about it.

Most of the time, your LiPos will take 1 hour to charge. LiPos generally charge at 1C, that is, 1x their capacity. For example, if you have a 2200mAh LiPo, you should charge it at 2.2A, and it will take 1 hour to charge it. LiPo chargers are special because they first charge the battery at Constant Current (CC), then Constant Voltage CV) as the battery nears a full charge. It is necessary to balance charge your LiPos whenever possible. Balance charges take a bit longer than just a quick charge, but as the name suggests, the charger will balance all the cells in your pack to the same voltage (4.20v), as cells tend to 'drift' from one another as time goes on.