Shimming 18R diffs

Old 11-05-2007, 12:23 PM
  #1  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (17)
 
BuggyKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 7,919
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Questions?? Shimming 18R diffs

Hello,

Was is the recommend amount of shims to run when running a lot of power. I am gonna be running a lot of power and dont wanna be tearing up diff gears. Should the drivetrain be free spinning. MIne feels like it binds with 2 shims hmm.
BuggyKing is offline  
Old 11-05-2007, 12:37 PM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,827
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

shimming varies from car to car due to molded parts.. basically you want there to be no play between the input gear and the diff gear, but not tight to where it binds the drivetrain.
geeunit1014 is offline  
Old 11-05-2007, 11:32 PM
  #3  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 95
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Don't they all come pre-shimmed now?
Mine did and its holding up pretty damn good!
naggalowmo is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 08:41 AM
  #4  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (294)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 34,378
Trader Rating: 294 (100%+)
Default

you could need to run in the gears a bit so they seat nice.
Cain is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 08:44 AM
  #5  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (17)
 
BuggyKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 7,919
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

oh cause I got the roller and it had a new front diff. Hmm thx I am running 2 shims in ea diff.
BuggyKing is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 09:34 AM
  #6  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (27)
 
MADMAN23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: waddington ny
Posts: 6,359
Trader Rating: 27 (97%+)
Default

i have 3 shim in my 18b....
MADMAN23 is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 11:51 AM
  #7  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,827
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cain
you could need to run in the gears a bit so they seat nice.
i wouldnt put grease on the gears, the grease will attract dirt, which will wear out the gears faster. it realy just depends on the car, i used to have an 18t that had 1 shim in the front and none on the back, but seen others that have need more
geeunit1014 is offline  
Old 11-07-2007, 08:44 AM
  #8  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (17)
 
BuggyKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 7,919
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

ppl told me u need more shims if u run a brushless motor in em.
BuggyKing is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.