Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Micro and Mini Scales
Need help converting brushed dromida to brushless > Need help converting brushed dromida to brushless
Like Tree10Likes

Need help converting brushed dromida to brushless

Reply

Old 01-16-2018, 05:10 PM
  #31  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 80
Default

I appreciate the info on the shocks as well bud!!
Beefy nugz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 10:42 AM
  #32  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 80
Default

Started putting this thing together. So the screws I have don't fit the new motor. Does anybody know the exact size screw i will need. I think 2.5mm was mentioned.
Is that 2.5x?

Or do I just tell the guy at the hobby shop i need 2.5mm screws?
Beefy nugz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 10:47 AM
  #33  
Tech Addict
 
the rc guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 625
Default

usually 3mm..
the rc guy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 11:04 AM
  #34  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 80
Default



Having a hard time figuring out what batteries to go with. Not even sure what kind of plugs I have on My esc. Looks like dean's but when I tried plugging into a dean's plug, it barely didn't fit. Anybody know?

My esc can handle 12v. Does this mean I can run any battery under 12v?

What cheap 1s/2s batteries are recommended for a 1/18 car?
Beefy nugz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 12:08 PM
  #35  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 77
Default

2.5mm screws or bolts are needed for 2040 and 24XX motors. WIth the dromida mount you need 2.5mm x 6mm for the thin part and 2.5mm x 8mm for the thick part of the motor mount. The plug you have is a deans (t-plug). Its normal for some of the plugs to fit tight.

Batteries I have used or are using the following

2s Rhino 1750mah https://www.amazon.com/Rhino-1750mAh.../dp/B00URCL1AO
2s floureon 1500mah https://www.amazon.com/FLOUREON-1500...oureon+1500mah
Generic 2s 2500mah https://www.ebay.com/itm/7-4V-2500mA...EAAOSwW6BaCXnU
2s 2000mah Duratrax DTXC1836 https://www.rcplanet.com/batteries/b...plug-dtxc1836/
Dromida 1600mah 2s lipo.

Links are for reference only you can find them cheaper and of course you will have to change and solder on your own connector on some.

If you have the racerstar 25a esc than its 2s lipo only. The 35a esc is 3s capable.
Igottabeme is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 12:59 PM
  #36  
Tech Addict
 
the rc guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 625
Default

a 1 cell lipo will not power your esc or servo or rx... the T plug red plug is a cheap no brand deans..id replace with a good deans.. the 3 sockets are 2.5 mm..
the rc guy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 06:46 PM
  #37  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 80
Default

Thanks again for the info fellas! 2s it is then. Got the motor hooked up, taped the reciever and esc. I really liked the universal servo mount. I believe everything is ready, just need a battery or two.
Beefy nugz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 06:51 PM
  #38  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 80
Default

[/QUOTE]

What wheels and tires are those? They look a tad bigger than stock
Beefy nugz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 07:38 PM
  #39  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 77
Default

They are a tad bigger and better in my opinion. There from a Helion Animus MT. I explained this in reply #25.



I upgraded after one of the stock tires broke. The plastic in the stock tires is very thin.



Width comparison.



Floureon 1500mah 2s lipo
Igottabeme is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 08:33 PM
  #40  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 80
Default

The treading on those look more aggressive as well. The inside plastic on those same dromida mt wheels broke on mine as well. Think I'll give those animus mt wheels a try
Beefy nugz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 09:44 PM
  #41  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 80
Default

What about the teton wheels, have you tried those?
Beefy nugz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 10:16 PM
  #42  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 77
Default

I have a teton and put foam in the tires before I glued them since they were unglued and had no foam in them. They work ok on the teton so I kept them on it and have not tried them on the dromidas. They are not the greatest but the plastic is definately better than the stock dromidas. The old dromida MT4.18 wheels work ok too although they are a little stiff.

I got the Animus MT wheels on ebay as a barely used just like new set I am always on the lookout for bargains on ebay if I remember I think I only paid $15.00 shipped. Heres a link for the same thing HSP RC Truck Parts (1/18) 58066 Wheel Set - HeliPal

Last edited by Igottabeme; 01-30-2018 at 10:27 PM.
Igottabeme is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2018, 06:05 AM
  #43  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 80
Default

Well the price they offer the wheels for in that link is pretty decent! Thanks gonna order a set soon, along with a battery and I'll be back on the road.

My brushed motor in my dromida actually went out on me the other day. I thought the motor would have last longer than the servo. But my servo still functions perfect!
Beefy nugz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2018, 10:40 AM
  #44  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 77
Default

The brushed do not do well offroad especially with 2s lipo they get way to hot and burn up.That is one of the main reasons I went brushless.

I only changed the sevos when they went out. The Towerpro MG90 is a popular budget choice they work well plus they are cheap but I have had one go out on me and another have centering issues. This is the servo I recommend https://www.banggood.com/EMAX-ES08MA...r_warehouse=CN plus the stock servo saver fits on the spline. I go without servo savers on metal gear servos the speed and response is better without them. If they go out they are cheap to replace.

I would also recommend the program card if you do not already have it. Not only can you use it on racerstars you should be able to use it on the Goolrc escs. With it you set lipo cutoff and turn it off to use nimhs. Different options as you will be able to see. Heres a link https://www.banggood.com/Racerstar-L...r_warehouse=CN
Igottabeme is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 10:00 AM
  #45  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 80
Default

Well I'm actually trying to figure out how to adjust the settings manually on this racestar esc. And so far no luck. Do I have to have the card to program?
Beefy nugz is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service