Wiki Posts
Search
Like Tree133Likes

F1 prototype 2017

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2017, 07:26 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

Considering I work in the racing industry and on 1:1 prototypes and open wheel cars, this intrigues me greatly.
British Menace, texastc and G-rem like this.
Old 05-21-2017, 11:41 AM
Tech Regular

It looks awesome. This is how F1s should look like, not ancient chassis with low power motor

Originally Posted by G-rem

I like what you are describing for your design, it would be a big step further in the "scaleness" game, as real F1 have a motor implementation like this! But finding helical "pinion gear" will be hard I think As spur/gear diff, you should use Awesomatix A700 gear diff (#GD2), they are the best on the market!

Regards,
G-rem
Dou you mean direct drive via bevel gears? This will be problem, as angle of bevel gears changes with gear ratio. So either you need to change whole set or add some standart gears (even with close to 1:1 ratio), so you can change gear ratio with pinion only.
If you want first variant, you can look for some CS sets for shaft driven 4wds, there were whole sets available for fine tuning of rear overdrive.
Second variant wont be as efficient, but still more eficient than belt drive or FGX setup and you could gain some additional space for electronics thanks to of-centre motor
texastc and G-rem like this.
Old 05-31-2017, 05:35 AM
Tech Addict

This is very impressive. If you want to increase the scale realism. Look at going to 380 size motor. Then you can push servo back and add more realism in the front. Raised nose etc. on 3 cell you get 200W+ from the Novak ones. Should be plenty to go fast.
Old 05-31-2017, 02:52 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)

So much awesome in this thread G-rem. Sub'd.
G-rem likes this.
Old 05-31-2017, 03:03 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)