R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-30-2005, 07:03 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
BritRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 2,081
Default Brand New fantom binary - tiny Comm

Just bought a new fantom Roar stock Team Limited Mint Can stock motor, and the comm is almost gone!! This was new in packet, .278

I know this is 'tuned' but hell, i can see a step in the comm, is this normal??

By my guessing i only get 2 or 3 more cuts out of it.

I have tried to call them, but its holiday time.

interested to see what anyone else has found, before i contact them next week.
BritRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 07:16 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
flameoutgarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Srcr Seattle, Wa
Posts: 3,642
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to flameoutgarrett
Default

when they come from the trininty/epic the comms are out of round...sometimes that is what it takes to get them perfectly round.
__________________
Team fun-Www.rc-trim.com-Team Speedmerchant-Team Orca-Team Br00d
flameoutgarrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 07:35 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
BritRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 2,081
Default

yeah, I have many br00d, Putnam and EA, none are even close to being this small....surely if that have to cut it that small, they should not sell it as one of their prenium motors???
BritRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 08:52 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
burbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to burbs Send a message via Yahoo to burbs
Default

a normal comm starts in the .290 range.. if you get a comm below .285 it has been cut very small to gain power.. some companies will keep cutting a com till they get numbers good enough to sell.. You can cut a com down to .265 before it gets close to ezploding.. at .278 you prolly got 10-15 cuts left if you cut it right..
burbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 09:19 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

I stopped purchasing Fantom motors because of problem's with the com being out of round...very badly out of round. I purchased 6 of their limited Monster's and 2 of their Limited BS motor's at the same time from MY LHS when the BS motors first became available. Brand new out of the package I rebuilt them cause I normally run Putman brushes and all were out of round. 6 of then were very badly out of round while 2 were just slightly. Still out of round is out of round.

Needless to say I have not bought any more of their products. I have been buying EAMotorsports and Putman motors and have never had a single problem. While the motors may be slightly more expensive to buy, in the end I save money on them because they already come with the springs and brushes I normally use, so I don;t have to speend the $5.00 per motor replacing that stuff right off the bat. Plus, I recevie the motors and can put them directly into the car without worrying about having to rebuild them!
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 12:00 AM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: UCLA
Posts: 196
Default

I can only think of one real reason why the commutator size is .278. Someone probably swap their old armature with the new one ... this can be done easily while the motor was with the distributor, hobby shop. Someone could even swap it and return the motor as new. Ex. Tower will take items back as long as the packaging looks new, they even provide a return label. Try to do that with a brand new armature at .300, it's going to take at least 15 to 20 passes to get it down to .278 and I don't think they will take this much time to cut down each armature in the first place.
RickyIS300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 08:04 AM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Superfly1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 189
Default

I'd go with the return thing. Just ordered a Epic Roar from Stormer and the package didn't look new, it also had been restapled. Not even in the old holes. I have yet to measure com. I will start buying my motors from reputable builders like EA, and Brood.
Superfly1967 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 10:37 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
burbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to burbs Send a message via Yahoo to burbs
Default

the armature shaft wears on the arm.. it is easy to check if it is been really used or not.. Ive seen motor builders cut the crap out of a motor till it pulls a minimum number...im not going to say names, but it has been done..Arm swapping is just passing the blame...
burbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 10:42 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
BritRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 2,081
Default

the package had not been opened, I am sure of that....

It was special ordered by me through my LHS.

The arm looks new, no discoloration anywhere, which would be unusal for a 25+ run motor!!

Wear on the armature from 1 run??? I dont think so.

Oh, and it ran like sh!t which was why I was cutting it after one run.
BritRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 01:51 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
tex1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 1,156
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tex1
Cool Which can is it?

Andy,
Let me know which can it is and I'll trade you an arm. Some times I run the small coms depending on the track conditions.

Sounds as though someone did a switch on that arm for sure.
I'm sure the company is unaware of it.
TEX
__________________
www.indyrcworld.net
Indy RC World 2.0 - Garland, TX
T&T RC Cars - Plano, TX
(972) 271-4844
tex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 07:40 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
1armed1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 3,075
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to 1armed1
Default

Jeff and Troy are both pretty honest guys.
Call the shop and leave a message with a return number and I'm sure Jeff will take care of you.
Dayton
1armed1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 07:58 AM   #12
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Manitowoc WI
Posts: 385
Default

As Dayton said,
Just call 1-269-483-0200 and ask for Jeff, If you get the answering machine leave a detailed message with your phone number and he should get back to you. Usually they will call at the end of the day at around 4:00PM eastern.

Hope this helps
__________________
Fantom, BL Racing, Retired
jimnew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 08:09 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Bob Nilsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 483
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Let us know what's happens with this... I was all ready to buy one until I heard this...
Bob Nilsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 08:12 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
BritRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 2,081
Default

just got answer phone today.

There was another guy at the track with same issue but with a monster, his was even lower
BritRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 09:59 PM   #15
Tech Regular
 
Bob Nilsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 483
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

You got an "answer phone"? Damn, I want one!
Bob Nilsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fantom Comm Lathe JimmyKB R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 02-24-2008 04:58 PM
Fantom comm lathe racer 70 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 01-15-2007 02:07 PM
Quantum 2 and Fantom Epic Binary Stock jrighter R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 07-29-2005 01:20 PM
12 used fantom monster & fantom binary balanced stock motors 2 epic roar stock brand jason cheng R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 06-06-2005 08:23 AM
Epic Binary stock $26.00 brand new 22Racer R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 01-11-2005 05:44 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:35 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net