Motor temp

Old 04-25-2015, 01:58 AM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 163
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Motor temp

Hey I have a temp probe that I can stick in the motor and that's what I have been doing to take temps. Should I stick the probe on the outside can or in the brushless motor where the windings are?
Tc460mph is offline  
Old 04-26-2015, 12:13 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
dan_vector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4,186
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Tc460mph View Post
Hey I have a temp probe that I can stick in the motor and that's what I have been doing to take temps. Should I stick the probe on the outside can or in the brushless motor where the windings are?
On the can.
dan_vector is offline  
Old 04-26-2015, 05:49 PM
  #3  
Tech Adept
 
The FastFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 198
Default

What's the target for temp?
The FastFred is offline  
Old 04-26-2015, 06:17 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,646
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Depends on the motor.

But general rule of thumb is don't exceed 160F / 70C on the track

Many motors can take more, but heat will be the death of any brushless motor eventually if run too high.
cplus is offline  
Old 04-26-2015, 10:41 PM
  #5  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 163
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Ok cool because when I check the windings my temp gauge saw 80c at most but on the can it has not gone up to 70c yet.
Tc460mph is offline  
Old 04-27-2015, 02:42 AM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Lonestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,619
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Anywhere as long as you do it consistently
Lonestar is offline  
Old 04-27-2015, 07:47 AM
  #7  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
OttoKrosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: AZ, USA
Posts: 500
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

During our HOT summers I've temp checked my 21.5 GT motor after coming off from a 4 minute race and have seen 190F (before installing a fan), motor is still working fine with no noticeable drop in performance....not that there isn't any...just can't tell. This is with timing max'd out, if not max'd out (like everyone else) you get passed a lot.

Bought the Muchmore Ultra High RPM fan and high temps are closer to 170F-180F.

We race at night between May and October, otherwise we're racing when it's 100 plus degrees with the sun beating down on you. It's still over 100 at night but at least we're not under the sun too.
OttoKrosse is offline  
Old 04-27-2015, 08:40 AM
  #8  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 163
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Well it was 80F outside when I was testing the motor temp. In mid Sumer it gets up to 115F so I'll be watching the motor temps when it gets hot out. I have a speed passion 7.5 turn 5700kv motor on a 4 cell lipo to go fast.
Tc460mph is offline  
Old 04-27-2015, 08:45 AM
  #9  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 497
Default

Originally Posted by OttoKrosse View Post
During our HOT summers I've temp checked my 21.5 GT motor after coming off from a 4 minute race and have seen 190F (before installing a fan), motor is still working fine with no noticeable drop in performance....not that there isn't any...just can't tell. This is with timing max'd out, if not max'd out (like everyone else) you get passed a lot.

Bought the Muchmore Ultra High RPM fan and high temps are closer to 170F-180F.

We race at night between May and October, otherwise we're racing when it's 100 plus degrees with the sun beating down on you. It's still over 100 at night but at least we're not under the sun too.
Holy crap. Where do you live? On the sun
2uzferunner03 is offline  
Old 04-27-2015, 11:52 AM
  #10  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
OttoKrosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: AZ, USA
Posts: 500
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 2uzferunner03 View Post
Holy crap. Where do you live? On the sun


Sometimes I think so, but Mesa Arizona is as close as you can get and still be on planet Earth.
OttoKrosse is offline  
Old 04-27-2015, 11:57 AM
  #11  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 163
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Lasvegas is almost the same thing and that's where I live.
Tc460mph is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.