R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-16-2013, 12:34 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Default HPI Sprint 2 Drift Problem

Hey everyone,
New to this form. Quick question. I just bought a HPI Sprint 2 Drift a a garage sale today. Brought it home and cleaned it up. The remote that came with it was a Kyosho remote. So anyway, I started it up and found out it works, but when I move the steering wheel on the remote, the wheels start moving. The throttle does nothing. Is there a reset button on the esc? What is the problem?
Josh
Josh.A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 01:50 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Marv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: ORD
Posts: 701
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh.A View Post
Hey everyone,
New to this form. Quick question. I just bought a HPI Sprint 2 Drift a a garage sale today. Brought it home and cleaned it up. The remote that came with it was a Kyosho remote. So anyway, I started it up and found out it works, but when I move the steering wheel on the remote, the wheels start moving. The throttle does nothing. Is there a reset button on the esc? What is the problem?
Josh
First wild guess =

The ESC plug and the STEERING SERVO plug are in the wrong slots on the receiver =

Which RECEIVER is in the car?

HPI MANUALS = http://www.hpiracing.com/instructions/#Kits
Marv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 02:03 PM   #3
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks! I did that and now the steering works, but no throttle. My receiver is the HPI RF-6.
Josh.A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 02:17 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
Marv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: ORD
Posts: 701
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh.A View Post
Thanks! I did that and now the steering works, but no throttle. My receiver is the HPI RF-6.
Make sure you have a fully charge (GOOD) batteries installed all around -

I'm guessing that the crystals in the radio match the receiver color-wise / freq-wise =

Google for a manual for your radio -

Check the throttle Trim and end points -

Check which ESC you have -

Google for a manual -

ESC - If you have a 1st generation Sprint = ESC is fixed / not programmable

Hard to say with out seeing any pics if you have a 1st generation Sprint or later...

Are the diffs covered like this >>> http://i968.photobucket.com/albums/a...f/IMG_0266.jpg

Sprint (generation 1 & early gen 2) bulk head =

http://www.rcplanet.com/ProductDetai...FdOHMgodMG8A3Q

Don't worry - if I'm wrong someone will be here to jump my sh!t in a heartbeat...

Which isn't a bad thing =
They must know more than me...
So we both win either way - - -




Last edited by Marv; 03-16-2013 at 02:45 PM.
Marv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 02:51 PM   #5
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Got some pics for you. Gonna also make sure the batteries are charged.
Attached Thumbnails
HPI Sprint 2 Drift Problem-dsc08869.jpg   HPI Sprint 2 Drift Problem-dsc08860.jpg   HPI Sprint 2 Drift Problem-dsc08862.jpg   HPI Sprint 2 Drift Problem-dsc08865.jpg  
Josh.A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 03:04 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,052
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Brushed motor...
Un-screw it and make sure you have good connections and that the brushes are not sticking. This can be done by pulling them out and making sure they move freely inside the hood.
If you have another motor lying around, try it. Or you can put a meter on the ESC to motor leads and test for voltage. It should be set to DC.
__________________
FEEDBACK

http://rctech.net/forum/search.php?searchid=2755879
truraza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 03:23 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
Marv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: ORD
Posts: 701
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by truraza View Post
Brushed motor...
Un-screw it and make sure you have good connections and that the brushes are not sticking. This can be done by pulling them out and making sure they move freely inside the hood.
If you have another motor lying around, try it. Or you can put a meter on the ESC to motor leads and test for voltage. It should be set to DC.

+1 what truraza said -

Great pictures -
The posting gods surely smile upon you!

You have a Sprint 2, 1st generation =
Not a Sprint (original) & not a Sprint 2 current (water proof 2.4 system) =
But close enough to a Sprint 2 current - except for the electronics -
Good car

Also, if that twist-tie has metal in it - get rid of it...

Brushed motors are cheap -

Marv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 03:43 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Marv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: ORD
Posts: 701
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Thumbs up Early (NON-2.4) Sprint 2 Manual

This should be the manual for your Sprint 2 =

http://www.hpieurope.com/manuals/pdf/323.pdf
Marv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
drift, hpi, sprint, sprint 2 drift


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:00 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net