Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
brush question for stock racing >

brush question for stock racing

brush question for stock racing

Old 04-21-2005, 06:59 PM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default brush question for stock racing

i have been running reedy 767 ever since i started on road racing but i see alot of people cutting a slot in brushes or a hole in the middle. i just odnt understand what it does and how it works, usually you would want more contact for a better connection but then why do people put holes and cut slots in brushes, and should i be doing that? i run epic binary or monster stocks all the time and i wanted to know should i be cutting or putting hole in my brushes?
fjm9898 is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 07:11 PM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
 
S-T-R-l-K-E-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CS RACING / RIDDLER HOBBIES
Posts: 973
Default

the reason why people serrate brushes is to maximize the flow of power from the esc to the commutator. the more serrated edges the better the transfer of power. now slotting and drilling also creates this effect. the edges of the hole or slot aids the power transfer as well. another effect of this is that the comm will be cooler due to the less contact it will have with brushface as a result you gain more rpm and unfortunatly loose torque as well.
S-T-R-l-K-E-R is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 08:31 PM
  #3  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Default

If your running Epic based motors you'll love Trinitys p/n 4505 brushes they have a different compound with more lubrication and silver and they also have the new cross cut serrations
EX10Helios is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 09:37 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

what about the XXX brushes, are they really worth it or should i stick with 767s. and if i got XXX brushes should put serade them after every run or every few runs or never?
fjm9898 is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 09:58 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
EddieO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,417
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

767 brushes work just fine, full face....

You can use the xxx brushes....though a small hole works good....you should never reserrate the xxx brushes.

Later EddieO
EddieO is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 11:00 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

hey eddie once the track and shop are up can you make some xxx with hole in them or ill gie you some xxx to put holes in. and hell ill probably be running your motors at your tack since they will probably be tuned for your tack
fjm9898 is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 11:37 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
EddieO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,417
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I can put the hole in for you at no charge.....in fact, I will show you how to do it....

If you make it up this weekend, bring yer stuff!

Later EddieO
EddieO is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 11:42 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

i wish i could but i am up in bellingham at college, at western, but ill make sure i make it down there opening day
fjm9898 is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 12:04 AM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
F. Alonso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,141
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Without a doubt.... F-Brush is the way to go for Stock racing. It increased RPM by 2,000 on my motor and more torque as well. That's WITHOUT a vertical slot in them which is supposed to give them even more power. I don't do stock racing any more but if I was... I'd only be running EA Stock Motors and EA F-Brushes in my car!
F. Alonso is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 08:22 AM
  #10  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
EddieO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,417
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

EA doesn't even really sell the F-Brush anymore.....they changed the compounds on them too many times, so he ditched it...

Last I saw, he only has standups in stock that he is clearing out....

Later EddieO
EddieO is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 09:06 AM
  #11  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (22)
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 8,055
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Hurricane Gold brushes.
robk is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 09:20 AM
  #12  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (45)
 
dgullickson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I'm a Dork Fish
Posts: 7,662
Trader Rating: 45 (96%+)
Default

767's work very well in a stock motor. A vertical slot will give you more Watts (Torque) on the dyno. Usually a hole in the brush will help you gain RPM's but sacrifice Torque.

If you have the cash flow the F-brush is nice and produces anywhere from 2-3k more RPM's on a Monster motor and about 5-10 more Watts on your bottom end.. Should have 500pr. of F - Brushes in today or Monday.
dgullickson is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 12:40 AM
  #13  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

dgullickson, how much for f-brushes?
fjm9898 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.