R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-21-2005, 07:59 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default brush question for stock racing

i have been running reedy 767 ever since i started on road racing but i see alot of people cutting a slot in brushes or a hole in the middle. i just odnt understand what it does and how it works, usually you would want more contact for a better connection but then why do people put holes and cut slots in brushes, and should i be doing that? i run epic binary or monster stocks all the time and i wanted to know should i be cutting or putting hole in my brushes?
__________________
Xray '007 US and a bunch of other outdated stuff
fjm9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 08:11 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
S-T-R-l-K-E-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CS RACING / RIDDLER HOBBIES
Posts: 973
Send a message via ICQ to S-T-R-l-K-E-R
Default

the reason why people serrate brushes is to maximize the flow of power from the esc to the commutator. the more serrated edges the better the transfer of power. now slotting and drilling also creates this effect. the edges of the hole or slot aids the power transfer as well. another effect of this is that the comm will be cooler due to the less contact it will have with brushface as a result you gain more rpm and unfortunatly loose torque as well.
S-T-R-l-K-E-R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 09:31 PM   #3
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Default

If your running Epic based motors you'll love Trinitys p/n 4505 brushes they have a different compound with more lubrication and silver and they also have the new cross cut serrations
EX10Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 10:37 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

what about the XXX brushes, are they really worth it or should i stick with 767s. and if i got XXX brushes should put serade them after every run or every few runs or never?
__________________
Xray '007 US and a bunch of other outdated stuff
fjm9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 10:58 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
EddieO's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,414
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

767 brushes work just fine, full face....

You can use the xxx brushes....though a small hole works good....you should never reserrate the xxx brushes.

Later EddieO
__________________
www.teambrood.com
EddieO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2005, 12:00 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

hey eddie once the track and shop are up can you make some xxx with hole in them or ill gie you some xxx to put holes in. and hell ill probably be running your motors at your tack since they will probably be tuned for your tack
__________________
Xray '007 US and a bunch of other outdated stuff
fjm9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2005, 12:37 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
EddieO's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,414
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I can put the hole in for you at no charge.....in fact, I will show you how to do it....

If you make it up this weekend, bring yer stuff!

Later EddieO
__________________
www.teambrood.com
EddieO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2005, 12:42 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

i wish i could but i am up in bellingham at college, at western, but ill make sure i make it down there opening day
__________________
Xray '007 US and a bunch of other outdated stuff
fjm9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2005, 01:04 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
F. Alonso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,141
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to F. Alonso Send a message via Yahoo to F. Alonso
Default

Without a doubt.... F-Brush is the way to go for Stock racing. It increased RPM by 2,000 on my motor and more torque as well. That's WITHOUT a vertical slot in them which is supposed to give them even more power. I don't do stock racing any more but if I was... I'd only be running EA Stock Motors and EA F-Brushes in my car!
__________________
Simon Feigl
RCRacer.com.au - Dedicated Australian Forum and Website

XRAY | HPI | Hotbodies | Hobbies Australia | LRP Electronics | Futaba
F. Alonso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2005, 09:22 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
EddieO's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,414
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

EA doesn't even really sell the F-Brush anymore.....they changed the compounds on them too many times, so he ditched it...

Last I saw, he only has standups in stock that he is clearing out....

Later EddieO
__________________
www.teambrood.com
EddieO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2005, 10:06 AM   #11
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,587
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Hurricane Gold brushes.
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2005, 10:20 AM   #12
Tech Champion
 
dgullickson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I'm a Dork Fish
Posts: 7,662
Trader Rating: 45 (96%+)
Send a message via AIM to dgullickson Send a message via Yahoo to dgullickson
Default

767's work very well in a stock motor. A vertical slot will give you more Watts (Torque) on the dyno. Usually a hole in the brush will help you gain RPM's but sacrifice Torque.

If you have the cash flow the F-brush is nice and produces anywhere from 2-3k more RPM's on a Monster motor and about 5-10 more Watts on your bottom end.. Should have 500pr. of F - Brushes in today or Monday.
dgullickson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2005, 01:40 AM   #13
Tech Elite
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

dgullickson, how much for f-brushes?
__________________
Xray '007 US and a bunch of other outdated stuff
fjm9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can Stock Motor use Silver Brush ? kschu Electric On-Road 5 01-17-2008 06:40 AM
Battery Question for Stock Racing scottw Rookie Zone 35 01-12-2006 01:31 PM
Brush Cuts for stock motors? acutts Electric On-Road 2 10-20-2005 10:53 AM
stock brush from tower acid_rain182 Electric On-Road 1 11-05-2003 08:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:43 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net