R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-14-2005, 06:44 PM   #16
Tech Master
 
Soviet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Littleton, CO - USA
Posts: 1,708
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Dude...put the Rx flat on top of the Servo. Then move your speedo about 1/2 inch behind servo, thus freeing up some space near the motor...

Then direct solder motor to speedo and go Deansô plugs for batt connections.

That would be the ideal setup.

-Sean
__________________
"You don't get hurt racing little cars..."

-Me
Soviet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2005, 06:56 PM   #17
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,491
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Valentin.H
Default

what i did was place my reciever on top of my servo....worked out great. that way you have enough room for your esc to lay flat..and you have room to do stuff.
__________________
-valentin
www.csjunkies.com
Valentin.H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2005, 12:36 AM   #18
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Cali.
Posts: 40
Post

So something like this?




This maybe a noobie question , I was looking into Deans Ultra Plugs, Does the male end go on the ESC Side or the Batteries?

Could I also use these plugs from the Motor to the ESC? I would like that ability to remove the motor for maintenance.

You guys have been a GREAT help, I do appreciate it.

Thanks
Nick-mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2005, 12:43 AM   #19
Tech Master
 
Soviet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Littleton, CO - USA
Posts: 1,708
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Yup...thats what I meant...great placement...now most folks use the male for the speedo and the female on the batts.

Swith the order for the motor so you don't get the plugs mixed up.

Then you'll be golden!

EDIT: Turn the speedo around 180 degrees.
__________________
"You don't get hurt racing little cars..."

-Me
Soviet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2005, 01:47 AM   #20
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Cali.
Posts: 40
Default

One last question, does anyone know a good way to shorten the servo cables?
Nick-mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2005, 02:00 AM   #21
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Iceland
Posts: 588
Default

Yeah, but I don't know if you like it. You open up the servo and unsolder the servo vires, then you cut the wires to the right length and solder them back. Close the servo and you're done.

Do a search, this has been discussed recently.
andsetinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2005, 02:22 AM   #22
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

If you use the Male on the batteries you risk having them get shorted out against a wrench or body clip or something metal in your pit box. Always use the female on the battery. that way too if you also use them on the motor you can use a Pack to break in a motor if you use the male plug on the motor. And I agree turn the speedo, but I'd just do 90 degrees to get the motor leads as close to the motor as possible.
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2005, 06:47 AM   #23
Tech Regular
 
WVRACER's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SCOTT DEPOT WV
Posts: 491
Send a message via AIM to WVRACER
Default

you could also order some new pins from servo city and cut off the end put new pins on and go from there works good for me

rob
WVRACER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2005, 12:27 PM   #24
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Cali.
Posts: 40
Default shorten Servo Wires

You are 100% right, I went to Servocity.com and they do have a easy way to cut the long servo wires.

http://www.servocity.com/html/servo_...rs___pins.html

Thanks for all your help.
Nick-mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2005, 12:33 PM   #25
Tech Regular
 
WVRACER's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SCOTT DEPOT WV
Posts: 491
Send a message via AIM to WVRACER
Default

no problem bro thats what i do thay also sell bulk wire if you need to lengthen them again

good luck at the races


Rob
WVRACER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2005, 10:42 PM   #26
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Cali.
Posts: 40
Talking

Well, all you RCtech's that helped me on this. Here is the finshed product. Thanks again for all your help. This was my first elec. car built.






How you guys approve?

Also, one more thing. I can not find what this is for????




Thanks again, RCTech's you Rock.
Nick-mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2005, 10:58 PM   #27
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,336
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Very clean,The tool ia a camber gage.
__________________
I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you.
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 07:30 AM   #28
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Cali.
Posts: 40
Default

This is a noob question, But How do you use a Camber Gage. I am guessing it is for Toe in or out. But how do you use it?
Nick-mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 07:47 AM   #29
Tech Regular
 
WVRACER's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SCOTT DEPOT WV
Posts: 491
Send a message via AIM to WVRACER
Default

camber hmm the best way i can explane it is

if you look strate down from the top of you car camber is how much the tires tilt in or out


best way to see it at work is to turn you weels all the way one way and then put some load on the shocks

at no load the wheel only have a small contact patch but with load the wheel will straten up and put a full face to the ground

here is a good site that explanes all of it alot better than me

http://ebiz.netopia.com/competitionx...ationdatabase/
WVRACER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 11:16 AM   #30
Tech Elite
 
edseb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Laguna Niguel, California
Posts: 2,421
Default

The layout looks okay, but keep an eye out for glitching. Depending on what servo you run, there is noise generated by the servo gears and also digital ones will be affeccted by the rx. If no glitching, don't worry about it.
__________________
RC Car Action Editor and Photographer
Carl Hyndman
edseb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to build a tc5 one way? C_Money Electric On-Road 7 01-30-2008 10:32 PM
Battery Build Problem Lano Electric On-Road 5 02-21-2006 03:11 PM
First Build Burn Rookie Zone 5 02-21-2005 11:35 AM
HPI R40 Build beowulf1877 Nitro On-Road 11 07-28-2004 09:44 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:33 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net