R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-11-2005, 10:47 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Adelaide, SA
Posts: 759
Send a message via MSN to Integrated
Default Power Supplies for Chargers

Just wondering what Power Supplies everyone is using (for chargers at home etc so you can save the 12volt car battery for track side charging and topping up batteries)

and if you have any pics of a case you made for a power supply could you post them in this thread, i have an I-Power 12volt 20amp (2 channel) on order from Dinballs RCmart.com, need to make a case for it so its safe and the wiring cant be touched, here's a link to the Power Supply i am getting:

http://www.rcmart.com/catalog/produc...oducts_id=4263

Apprechiate pics and feedback on this one guys, thanks in advance.
Integrated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2005, 11:00 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
scoobydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area San Jose
Posts: 1,501
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I use this one that I got at etronics.com
Works great!
http://www.etronics.com/product.asp?stk_code=pyrps14kx
scoobydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2005, 01:26 AM   #3
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 7
Default

I use modifyed PC power supply. One extra fan for better cooling and 12V output connectors...
My supply gives [email protected]

Some pictures
RaDon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2005, 01:39 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
bender's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,504
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Thumbs up Computer PSU

Yep, I use a computer power supply too.

You can run 2 chargers off them, or use it to run your comm lathe (5v line) or run in brushes (3v line).

Best of all they are cheap

Here's mine:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cimg0024.jpg (99.2 KB, 625 views)
__________________
Jason W
FIR#2 - "You can't buy this much talent"
Durango Dex410 - Schumacher Cougar SV - Top Photon
bender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2005, 01:54 AM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Adelaide, SA
Posts: 759
Send a message via MSN to Integrated
Default

thanks for all your info guys, its great to see what power supplies people are using, keep the pics comming
Integrated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2005, 01:54 AM   #6
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Do you have to put some loads ( ex. resistors ) on 5V line ?
__________________
On Road : Xray NT1 , RX8 , T4 || Mugen Seiki MRX4-R , MTX4 , MTX3 prospec || Tamiya M03 , M04 || Top Racing Sabre FD2
Off Road : Xray XT8 || Hobao Hyper 8
Radio : Futaba 3PKS || KO propo EX-10 eurus
asw7576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2005, 02:01 AM   #7
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by asw7576
Do you have to put some loads ( ex. resistors ) on 5V line ?
I have 1 ohm 25W resistor in 5V line... It warm highly, so I put that extra fan to my supply for cooling down it.
RaDon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2005, 02:52 AM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Pro4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 524
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Thumbs up Much More

I use the Much More Power Master. 12v supply with 20A (max 24A). It is great
Pro4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2005, 05:52 AM   #9
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to yodaopie
Default

To the guys using PC power supplies... What sorta of whattage power supplies are you using? And did you just clip the extra cables and find the +-12vt DC Leads and wire yourself up some Bananna plugs?

**edit cuz i r spell good
yodaopie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2005, 06:00 AM   #10
Tech Adept
 
losixxxs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: columbus,ohio
Posts: 235
Default

i use promatch power supply it is the same at novak power supply just a little bigger

go to promatch.com to see it

it is only 39.99

late
losixxxs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2005, 08:30 AM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
primusblowsgoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pingree Grove, IL
Posts: 987
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to primusblowsgoat Send a message via Yahoo to primusblowsgoat
Default

i use a pyramid thats older than the titanic.
it wieghs about 20 lbs, is friggen huge. but it works awesome.
15 volts, 25 amps 27 max

will run 3 chargers without sweating, but theres a loose connection in it somewhere that if you hit the table hard enough the alarm goes off and it shuts itself down lol

but i only payed 25 bucks for it

and to get around the huge part i made a distribution box for it, so the haas can sit on the floor and just my chargers and distribution box are on the table.

i love to hate the thing, but it works
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Schumacher Cat SX2
Schumacher Cougar SV
primusblowsgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2005, 09:40 AM   #12
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rocky Hill, CT
Posts: 8
Default

I use Duracomm power supplies. I have a 14 amp and a 25 amp. The 25 amp can run a couple of chargers, comm lathe etc..no problem.
valem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2005, 02:51 PM   #13
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Athens, Greece.
Posts: 105
Default

I was thinking of making one from PC power supply.
Is it possible to make one giving 20+A ???
Capone_GR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2005, 10:47 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,319
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

I use a PC power supply also. 300 watt or more is best to use. But right now getting away with a 200 watt. Just have to make sure it will put out 10 amps on the 12 volt leg.

The yellow wires are 12 volt lines.
Red wires are the 5 volt lines.
Orange (I think) is 3.3 volt line.

To get the 12 volts to actually put out 12 volts you need to put a load on the 5 volt leg. I use a taillight bulb. 1157 or whatever. A LED would be better as it would put out less heat, and wouldn't burn out.

If using a newer supply, you need to put the red wire and a black wire together from the main connector that is 2 deep by 10 long.

Here's a good thread about it on another forum. Don't mind the pink theme, it's only until Valentines day is over. 12 Volt PC power supply
jbrow1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2005, 11:08 PM   #15
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to yodaopie
Default

jbrow1... thats awsome exactly what I was looking for... time to go scavenging at work
yodaopie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
chargers and power supplies cbl R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 10 01-21-2008 08:33 AM
2 Chargers and 2 Power Supplies mwiley R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 11-21-2007 10:08 AM
wtb chargers and power supplies tulsa R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 22 07-18-2006 05:35 AM
Question on chargers and power supplies koinonas Electric On-Road 3 05-25-2006 10:34 PM
BIG SALE- M8, XXX-S's, chargers, power supplies, etc.... cdelong R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 25 09-26-2004 05:57 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:12 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net