Community
Wiki Posts
Search

C rating question

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2012, 03:37 AM
Tech Rookie

Default C rating question

Hey Guys, I'm a newbie on this forum and to the world of electric R/C!
so sorry if this is a dumb question!

If you are buying a battery does it matter what C rating you get as long as its over the amp draw of the motor?
for example the motor on my redcat racing draws 80amps and the recommended C rating for it it 20C but does it matter if i go up to 40C if i wanted and what are the advantages of a High C Rating.

Any help would be awesome!

Cheers
Old 03-22-2012, 04:41 AM
Tech Elite

The higher the C-rating the higher the higher the pack can draw amp! For sereious racing a 45c pack will do the job while for bashing a 20-25c pack is enough.
Old 03-22-2012, 04:41 AM
Tech Elite

What class of motor are you running?

There is no standard for measuring the 'C' rating of lipo's so most of it is manufacturer BS.

If you're just bashing it won't matter so much, but if you're racing competitively you might want something a bit more powerfull, but again, it will depend on what class you will be running.
Old 03-22-2012, 05:58 AM
Tech Master

Remember that the c rating is a multiplier. The c stands for capacity so a 40c 4000 mah battery is 40 x capacity or 40 x 4000 = 160000mah or 160 amps. a 30c 6000mah battery would be 30 x 6000 = 180000 or 180 amps. In this case the lower c is more powerful. a 60 c 2500mah is 60 x 2500= 150000 or 150 amps. In this case the 60c is less powerful.

In most cases a 40c 5000mah will get the job done. You want to pay attention to these numbers not so much for instant power but for a more stable power source throughout the run. A higher c and mah will be more consistent throughout the whole race where a smaller c and mah may start to fade halfway through the race resulting in lower lap times.
Old 03-22-2012, 02:11 PM
Suspended

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)