Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
F104 wide track conversion kit set new record at UF1Series on Feb 4 at TQrcracing >

F104 wide track conversion kit set new record at UF1Series on Feb 4 at TQrcracing

F104 wide track conversion kit set new record at UF1Series on Feb 4 at TQrcracing

Old 03-12-2012, 03:26 AM
  #106  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (14)
 
aussierevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane Qld
Posts: 905
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

while I must say it was dissappointing when I fitted this item and had so much play, I have found a solution that has worked so far.

Like others, I didn't have a shim to do the trick, but I have backed the grub screw all the way out, and that has stopped any movement. I for the life of me can't remove the pin one bit. I've taken it for a run and all seems well, only racing will tell I suppose.
aussierevo is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 03:41 AM
  #107  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
R-Sector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 73
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

We are sorry to hear that but if you are really not happy with that particular part of the kit we will exchange it for you. We've done random fitting on them they all fitted well. But maybe after you race it you will change your mind. Thanks
R-Sector is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 03:50 AM
  #108  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 566
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Could somebody please post how they shimmed it?

I noticed the wheel can wiggle a tiny bit on the diff side (not the wheel moving in an out) though where to me it looks like the shim is needed would require a 12mm x 0.08mm shim. Saw someone mentioned a 5.5mm x 0.08mm fixed this but can't see where that would go to fix the issue?

To r-sectors credit the product is absolutely brilliant and the play is acceptable. I've got a number of tobee hopups I had purchsed for my f201 years ago and they in the end have never gone in the car due to the hopeless tolerences. On top of that I've had worse tolerance issues with tamiya products.
J-PaP is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 06:03 AM
  #109  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (67)
 
Taman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: GC, Aust
Posts: 903
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Ref the diff side piece moving, mine does the same. Where do you get the shim from, does someone have a brand/part number please?

I tried letting the grub screw out and it did secure the piece in place but the pin fell out Also tried putting a longer grub scew in but the hole in the outer diff is smaller than the grub screw. Also agree that the parts are nicely made

Last edited by Taman; 03-12-2012 at 07:08 AM.
Taman is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 06:45 AM
  #110  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: (@)(@)
Posts: 286
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

CRC part number 4742 shows an ID of 12mm. The info does not say how thick it is.
qwkpony is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 11:26 AM
  #111  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by R-Sector View Post
We are sorry to hear that but if you are really not happy with that particular part of the kit we will exchange it for you. We've done random fitting on them they all fitted well. But maybe after you race it you will change your mind. Thanks
Seems like supplying your customers with the somewhat non-standard shims to correct the manufacturing tolerance issue, would be the right thing to do.
Less cost, and time than shipping/returning parts ?

A little customer good will goes a long way in the current market.
RedBullFiXX is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 11:39 AM
  #112  
Tech Adept
 
Hallgm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 203
Default

Originally Posted by RedBullFiXX View Post
Seems like supplying your customers with the somewhat non-standard shims to correct the manufacturing tolerance issue, would be the right thing to do.
Less cost, and time than shipping/returning parts ?

A little customer good will goes a long way in the current market.
I second that.
Hallgm is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 12:09 PM
  #113  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,621
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Hallgm View Post
I second that.
It sounds like everyone who has this piece has this slop problem is there anybody who doesn't? I agree should be corrected by manufacturer ....how could every piece that is sold have this slop problem? especially if it was test fitted prior to shipping? hmmmmm..........
theatriks is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 12:20 PM
  #114  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
texastc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,657
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like most had play in the diff side? I didn't have any slop on diff at all. had a bit on the left side hub.
texastc is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 01:57 PM
  #115  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
R-Sector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 73
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Smile

Please send us an email at [email protected] with your rctech ID and your info and where it was purchased if there's a tolerance issue(please identify the issue). We just randomly select the stock we have and test fitted them again there weren't any slop on the diff hubs. Thanks
R-Sector is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 03:19 PM
  #116  
Tech Regular
 
Norman2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Brevard, NC
Posts: 289
Default

Hi, I installed mine and no slop at all. Now with 190mm I can use my
Toyota TS020 body and can run in Gt LM. Very clever gadget,
Norman2

Ps. Cannot use the TS020 Toyota as the wheelbase on the F104 is too long so I will
use it on my CRC Genx-LE and run in a class we have GT1 for Le Mans and GT
cars. It is similar to World GT but we run any body that races GT or Le Mans.

Last edited by Norman2; 03-13-2012 at 01:59 AM.
Norman2 is offline  
Old 03-13-2012, 01:23 AM
  #117  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
R-Sector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 73
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Shim kits will be ready next week, please get them from where they bought their kit. They will be included in the kit from now on. Use them if necessary. Thank You for your support
R-Sector is offline  
Old 03-13-2012, 05:40 AM
  #118  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,621
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by R-Sector View Post
Shim kits will be ready next week, please get them from where they bought their kit. They will be included in the kit from now on. Use them if necessary. Thank You for your support
Nice move
theatriks is offline  
Old 03-13-2012, 07:29 AM
  #119  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: (@)(@)
Posts: 286
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by J-PaP View Post
Could somebody please post how they shimmed it?

I noticed the wheel can wiggle a tiny bit on the diff side (not the wheel moving in an out) though where to me it looks like the shim is needed would require a 12mm x 0.08mm shim. Saw someone mentioned a 5.5mm x 0.08mm fixed this but can't see where that would go to fix the issue?

To r-sectors credit the product is absolutely brilliant and the play is acceptable. I've got a number of tobee hopups I had purchsed for my f201 years ago and they in the end have never gone in the car due to the hopeless tolerences. On top of that I've had worse tolerance issues with tamiya products.
I broke down and made a shim last night. I started with a plastic shock part from the Tamiya touring car shock plastic parts tree. It has an ID of a little more than 12mm. I put it on sand paper and went to work. It wound up being paper thin. I measured it and it came out to be a little less than .01mm thick (.01mm was the limit of my digital caliper).
No play at all now!!!

Last edited by qwkpony; 03-13-2012 at 12:06 PM.
qwkpony is offline  
Old 03-13-2012, 08:17 AM
  #120  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Kaohsiung City, Taiwan
Posts: 1,571
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by R-Sector View Post
Shim kits will be ready next week, please get them from where they bought their kit. They will be included in the kit from now on. Use them if necessary. Thank You for your support
JiuHaWong is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.