Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Motor & ESC Temps

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2011, 12:05 PM
Tech Initiate

Default Motor & ESC Temps

im new to the electric side of Rc, i recently bought a hpi cup racer fitted with the hpi flux brushless system motive esc motor 5700kv
and a hpi plazma 7.4v 4000mah lipo, today was the first time i`ve run it, in the house just drifting around for 5mins or so, when i bought it i was told to keep an eye on the temps so after 5mins the motor was 141f and the esc 156f am i right in thinking this is way to hot for just 5min run time? if so how do i cool it down to get longer run times... thanks for any advise in advance and remember im a newbie
Old 07-14-2011, 01:01 PM
Tech Initiate

is this in the wrong thread? or does nobody have any advise?
Old 07-16-2011, 05:01 AM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)

whats you gearing? spur ,pinion?
Old 07-16-2011, 05:45 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)

mite be reading your post wrong but if your on and off the throttle in a small area and drifting it can heat things up much faster, try a 5 min run out doors see how it goes.
Old 07-16-2011, 11:33 AM
Tech Adept

Originally Posted by postie90
im new to the electric side of Rc, i recently bought a hpi cup racer fitted with the hpi flux brushless system motive esc motor 5700kv
and a hpi plazma 7.4v 4000mah lipo, today was the first time i`ve run it, in the house just drifting around for 5mins or so, when i bought it i was told to keep an eye on the temps so after 5mins the motor was 141f and the esc 156f am i right in thinking this is way to hot for just 5min run time? if so how do i cool it down to get longer run times... thanks for any advise in advance and remember im a newbie
Being that you are drifting you constantly on the throttle, naturally heat will build up faster. You can add a fan to your motor and speedcontol to curb the temperature. Also you change the pinion gear to a smaller one by 2 or 3 teeth.
Old 07-17-2011, 03:56 AM