R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   tips and tricks to mounting a tc body (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/484109-tips-tricks-mounting-tc-body.html)

rpc07 02-20-2011 04:12 AM

tips and tricks to mounting a tc body

I used to race touring car many years ago and I'm going to get back into it this summer with a tc6, but from what I remember mounting the body was always a difficult task to get it perfect what are some tricks you guys use to mount and line up the body's and to cut perfect cicrles for the wheels?

Thanks in advanced, Ryan

VooDooPH 02-20-2011 04:22 AM

i usually set the car up then mount the body before painting it... align the wheels on the wheel wells and mark the posts with a sharpee.

BOG 02-20-2011 04:41 AM

I am no pro but i just did a body and had a buddy paint it, tho i did not cut the body post holes and did make them!! Should have cut the holes first!!

this is the procedure that i am going to use next time

cut holes for body post
trim excess lexan minus wheel wells
place body on car and mark out wheel wells with sharpie
paint
take off protective coating
cut out wheels and dremmel as necessary!!!

markrobinson 02-20-2011 04:42 AM

Originally Posted by rpc07 (Post 8680607)
cut perfect cicrles for the wheels?

Thanks in advanced, Ryan

Get yourself a compass cutter. Very cheap as long as your don't buy it from an r/c related shop!

niznai 02-20-2011 04:54 AM

Yep, compass cutter is the go. Olfa make one you can pick up from art and craft stores or internet and it is a professional tool. Not expensive at all.