Search
Like Tree2Likes

3Racing Sakura Zero S

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2013, 07:56 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 165 (100%+)

Originally Posted by ttsquirrel
ok here is another question. the kit comes with 48P gears right. why does the gearing chart show 64P and why would people change.

soory complete noobie here to on road cars

thanks

TTS
Racers often switch to 64 pitch gears as it provides for finer tuning. The down side is that the teeth are finer and can be more susceptible to stripping or damage from tiny rocks and pebbles when running outdoors.
Old 06-19-2013, 02:23 PM
Tech Apprentice

hello again all,

I am about page 35 now out of 194. now i have even more questions!!!

im trying to figure out all the FDR numbers and am confused. everyone seems to be running different FDR's and i understand that it is because of different motors. i still cant get my head around it. FDR's are being run between 4.0 and 8.0. I am assuming the higher the FDR, the lower the turn on the motor. is that correct?

w wanted to use the stock gearing and 21T motor but read that i couldn't get the right size pinion on motor because there is not enough room to get the fdr to a 4.1 which is what i should be running right? so i would have to get the 76T spur and put on a 35 pinion. with a 21T motor is a 4.1 FDR good? what happens when the FDR goes higher with this setup? slower acceleration?

than after the 21T motor, i plan on putting a 17.5T motor to advance to the next class. what is the proper FDR for that motor?

soo confusing.. does anyone have a site where this is explained and what the FDR numbers will do as far and top speed and acceleration?

thanks

TTS
Old 06-19-2013, 03:04 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 145 (100%+)