R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-26-2004, 08:25 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
tcdrvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 217
Default Fantom Facts Machine Help

I was wondering if anyone has had any problems out of their Facts Machine Dyno's? I have had mine for about seven months and have had to send it in for repairs twice. Now the thing runs as soon as the power supply is turned on. If anyone can help I'd appreciate it.
tcdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 08:35 PM   #2
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like the FET's are toasted.

This happens most of the time as a result a reversed diode on the motor.

Not saying that is what happened here, but that is the only time I have seen that happen....

The motor gets 12V as a result of the shorted FET's.....
Very scary......sounds like it's going to take off and fly.
__________________
Tre's
TnT-Fx Custom Graphics
www.tnt-fx.com
Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 08:38 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
tcdrvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 217
Default not the motor

The motor is a brand new Epic Binary Roar Spec. I don't have a diode on the motor.
tcdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 08:44 PM   #4
Super Moderator
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,494
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

With or without the diode it still seems like the fets are gone. I use to repair them and that was the most common parts to go. People would hook their units up backwards to the supply and that does it as well. Most of the time though it would take out the capacitor as well.
__________________
There is great need for a sarcasm font.

You never know when it will strike, but there comes a moment at work when you know that you just aren't going to do anything productive for the rest of the day.

Sometimes I post just to look at my avatar.
Kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 08:48 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
tcdrvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 217
Default

The power was hooked up to a power supply that was turned off until the motor was plugged in. Nothing was changed after the motor previous motor test, and it worked fine for that motor. I really don't understand why this thing would blow out again.
tcdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 04:47 AM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Rick Worth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Elmwood,Tn
Posts: 348
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Make sure the little transformer (power supply) is plugged in before hooking up the motor. R.W.
Rick Worth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 06:52 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,964
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I get an error#6 with mine... supposedly a communication error from laptop to dyno. It only does it on 10 turns and lower. I e-mailed Dave Clary about it, and i got no response, which isnt surprising. Im a little peeved i spent 500$ on this dyno and cant even get it to dyno the motors i bought it for. It even took over a month to get my registration code from Dave Clary for my software... then to find the dyno doesnt even work right! TCDRVR, i feel your pain bro. Im sorry i cant help ya but can only complain... misery loves company! LOL

- DaveW
__________________
...you better run like im booger flickin...
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 07:12 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
ahibj8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: AUS
Posts: 126
Default

Last time I asked Dave for a number it took only 5 days,

Rick is right, make sure the little power supply is on I had it happen to me

Scott J
ahibj8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 08:34 AM   #9
Tech Adept
 
tcdrvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 217
Default Facts

The small power supply for the unit was plugged in and the unit was turned on when it failed. I was testing a motor. I'm really disappointed with this thing since it was really expensive and so far the only thing I've gotten out of it was a lighter wallet. I've got over $600 into a dyno that breaks everytime it's put to use and still can't even get any information out of it. High quality for the money...
tcdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 09:35 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
Tempest2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Smyrna, TN
Posts: 1,590
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I can tell you that the unit that a friend bought has gone out twice. I replaced the fets and that wasn't the problem. It will run fine on like 12 turn and up motors, but if you put in an 11 turn or below the motor actually quits about halfway through the 5 seconds it is supposed to run and the rpm reading goes to zero even while it is spinning. It's been repaired before and it worked fine for maybe a couple of months and did the same thing again. I don't think they can handle the low wind motors.
Tempest2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 09:50 AM   #11
Tech Adept
 
tcdrvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 217
Default

It was a binary Stock Motor. The lowest turn I've tested on it is a 19-turn
tcdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 03:23 PM   #12
Tech Adept
 
ahibj8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: AUS
Posts: 126
Default

Very strange I have been using this dyno since the RSR days without a problem and regularly test down to 7 turn using a car battery topped up after each run.

I never hook a motor up without having the power supply and battery hooked up and on. Also ensure the computer and power supply is on a different electrical circuits, seems to cause problems or a electrical loop between the computer and dyno.

I wonder if line power quality might spike the dyno?

I have had the dos verison drop out, but not the Win version.
ahibj8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fantom Facts Machine Dyno mackin R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 12-13-2007 10:32 AM
Fantom Facts Machine Dyno ground-round R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-08-2006 07:26 AM
fantom facts machine 2 therealshark R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 10 12-04-2005 09:18 AM
FS: Fantom Facts Machine W/ PS and CPU! Spyked R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-27-2003 04:32 PM
Fantom Facts machine Dyno F/S rcspeed R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 02-22-2002 12:30 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:51 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net