Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Power Capacitor to gain acceleration >

Power Capacitor to gain acceleration

Power Capacitor to gain acceleration

Reply

Old 07-01-2004, 11:07 AM
  #76  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Iceland
Posts: 588
Default

Originally posted by TCRacerPro
HEY MY OLD CAPACITATOR FRIED OFF, WHERE DO YOU INSTALL A 10,000 UF CAPACITATOR CORRECTLY IN THIS SPEED CONTROL. I GOT A FRIEND TO INSTALL IT, PUT I THINK HE INSTALLED IT WRONG... PLEASE SHOW ME WHERE TO CORRECTLY INSTALL IT THANKS..
Originally posted by BigBear
Yes.
Match up the - on the ESC to the - on the capacitor.
Match up the + on the ESC to the + on the capacitor.

Remember to attach the capacitor on the battery wires of the ESC.

Also, I found the manufacturer website with the capacitor specs. Check out the initial post.
andsetinn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 07:08 PM
  #77  
tornado
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by andsetinn
GM provide a 470uF 16V electrolytic cap and a super schottky diode with the esc.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 08:01 PM
  #78  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 221
Default

Hey thanks guuys!.!.!
TCRacerPro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 08:11 PM
  #79  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

I missed out on the capacitor that was on ebay and Im looking a mouser electronics now. I found two low impendance 10v 10,000uf caps http://www.mouser.com/index.cfm?hand..._pcodeid=64712 and http://www.mouser.com/index.cfm?hand...pcodeid=64703. Which looks better? They have the same dimensions as the ebay one (.5mm off probably rounded anyway) so they could be the same one.
AE Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 08:25 PM
  #80  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

What does it mean if it says a capacitor is Radial?
AE Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 03:26 AM
  #81  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 593
Default Round

.
David Root is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 06:00 AM
  #82  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
StewartFan20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Grrrrr!!!!
Posts: 693
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by tornado
GM provide a 470uF 16V electrolytic cap and a super schottky diode with the esc.

Is this self contained? I have the GM V8 and there are not external capacitors or diodes. Also, the directions metioned something about adding a capacitior. May be it is just me having trouble reading the poorly translated manual
StewartFan20 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 11:39 AM
  #83  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 593
Default Sorry,

for my smart remark. Radial has the leads coming out of the same end of the can. Axial has one coming out of each end of the can.
David Root is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 11:50 AM
  #84  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

I knew what the axial one is but the ones that dont state radial are still radial as shown through the picture, but are half the price.
AE Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 06:42 PM
  #85  
tornado
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by StewartFan20
Is this self contained? I have the GM V8 and there are not external capacitors or diodes. Also, the directions metioned something about adding a capacitior. May be it is just me having trouble reading the poorly translated manual
Nope....you've gotta instal it yourself. If you notice the power cap. its polarised (means there is a +ve and a -ve output)...and these leads are connected parallel to connection to battery on the esc.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 06:45 PM
  #86  
tornado
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by AE Racer
I knew what the axial one is but the ones that dont state radial are still radial as shown through the picture, but are half the price.
Either radial or axial ...both works the same.... the only thing is ur choice...... ease of installing to ur tiny little esc... thats all
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 11:08 AM
  #87  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
kufman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elburn, IL
Posts: 3,445
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Axial has one lead out of each end where radial has both leads on the same end.
kufman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2004, 12:57 PM
  #88  
Tech Initiate
 
Rockheadsguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kenosha, Wisconsin
Posts: 44
Default ESR

After reading through this thread, I went to a local electronics store and found huge racks full of capacitors... I was able to identify all the parameters that have been mentioned here (voltage, temperature, and uf rating) but couldn't find out anything about the resistance (ESR) rating on any of them. The guy at the shop said he'd never heard of rating or testing them for resistance.

So, how can you find the resistance on these things?
Rockheadsguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2004, 03:04 PM
  #89  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 593
Default Re: ESR

Originally posted by Rockheadsguy
So, how can you find the resistance on these things?
If you can find type FC you got it made.
David Root is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 02:30 AM
  #90  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Iceland
Posts: 588
Default

You could measure the resistance -ESR meter- Most manufacturers have table listing ESR for their capacitors, just have a look at their homepage. ESR is very important measurement, it specifies how the capacitor behaves at certain frequencies, the shop should be able to access this information.

Last edited by andsetinn; 07-07-2004 at 02:37 AM.
andsetinn is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service