Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
brushed motor and tyre questions >

brushed motor and tyre questions

brushed motor and tyre questions

Reply

Old 12-06-2009, 08:30 PM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 78
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default brushed motor and tyre questions

Hey

I tried doing a search but could could not find the answer i was after. So here goes is it important to run in a brushed motor and what is the best way? Also with the tyres they have on the market and the rubber tyres what does the deg mean on there label? This is what i think it is but please correct me if i am wrong. Is it to do with the running temperature of the tyre or the maximum temperature the tyre can handle.

Thank you for your responses in advance.

Regards

Robert
rwmjd007 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 09:27 PM
  #2  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (25)
 
Phat-Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: los Angeles, Ca. U.S.A.
Posts: 583
Trader Rating: 25 (96%+)
Default

motor: http://www.rc411.com/pages/howto.php?howto=9&page=7
tire: http://www.tamiyausa.com/articles/fe...?article-id=13
Phat-Boy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 09:51 PM
  #3  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 78
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

thanks for that the tyre information was really help full and so was the info on motors. Sorry if i did not clarify my question. When i mean run in on a brushed motor i was meaning on a new motor, do you have to wear it in to get the most power out of it.
rwmjd007 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 10:04 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (34)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,442
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Yes, you want to break in a brushed motor to seat the brushes fully. I used to use a fan mounted to the armature and run the motor at 3volts for about 5 minutes with a couple drops of comm drops to do this. After this I would spray out the comm and reoil the bushings, but do not remove the brushes while doing this you want the brush to stay where it's at. If you change/remove the brushes or clean/cut the comm you will need to repeat the breakin procedure.
chensleyrc1 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service