Wiki Posts
Search

Gear ratio question

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2009, 11:56 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default Gear ratio question

I have a gear ratio question. Sorry I am a novice, please correct me if I am wrong.

First, let's forgetting about the track condition, track length, just imagine it's average for everything.

I want to confirm that, is that a lower gear ratio (e.g 6:1), will provide more top-speed? And higher gear ratio (e.g. 9:1) will provide more torque?

What's the different running on a low gear ratio (e.g. 6:1) between a 17.5 and 13.5 motors (on the same car)? How actually the car will react differently?

Thanks!
Old 08-05-2009, 12:11 AM
Tech Elite

6:1 would have as higher top speed than 9:1. Although we actually call 6:1 a "high" ratio and 9:1 a "low" ratio.

Run a 17.5 on the same ratio as a 13.5 and you will have lower top speed (Assuming the 17.5 has fewer RPM and less power, which is normally the case).
Old 08-05-2009, 12:33 AM
Tech Elite

Originally Posted by ep10
I want to confirm that, is that a lower gear ratio (e.g 6:1), will provide more top-speed? And higher gear ratio (e.g. 9:1) will provide more torque?

What's the different running on a low gear ratio (e.g. 6:1) between a 17.5 and 13.5 motors (on the same car)? How actually the car will react differently?

Thanks!
Yes.
Think of the gear ratio in terms of how many turns one gear makes to get the next (the one it meshes with) gear to turn once. That means of course for the first gear ratio you need to turn the input gear six times to turn the output gear once whilst for the second gear ratio you need the input gear to turn nine times to have the output gear turn once. By now it should be clear that once your input gear reaches its top rev count the output gear will turn six times slower (for the first gear ratio) or nine times slower (for the second gear ratio). Guess which would give you a higher revcount then between the two!