Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Tamiya TA05?!!!?

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2009, 04:12 PM
Tech Regular

Default Tamiya TA05?!!!?

Hi everyone, i am fairly new to electric onroad ive been running nitro onroad for 3 years or so and i am looking for a good onroad electric car for racing! i am wondering if the TA05 are any good?! i have a $$ budget that limits my items to buy, other wise ill go for the tc5 or tc,.... etc, so are the TA05 straight out a rolling kit or what comes in the box when i actually get one?! ThankYou!!
Old 07-17-2009, 05:23 PM
Tech Regular

The TA05 is as tough as steel. It's pretty quick and it has all the necessary adjustments too. You'd need to put a little money into it though to get it to match the TC5 out of the box. Things like the coil over shocks, sway bars, suspension mounts, and a spool or one-way are usual upgrades to the normal TA05.
Old 07-18-2009, 08:42 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)

There are several versions, so it depends on which one you buy. The standard TA05, TA05-IFS & TA05-Version-2 are all complete rolling chassis with tires & body sets.

The TA05-R and TA05-IFS-R do not come with tires or bodies. They do come with all the necessary hopups for good competitive racing. If budget permits, these are a much better dollar investment. The IFS-R is the more updated of the two with shot suspension arms, and beefier diffs & hubs.

If you can only afford a standard kit, have a look at the new version-2 chassis. It just came out, but it's really quite nice. It has a narrower chassis, and features the short suspension arms & beefed up hubs & diffs of the IFS-R. It's only sold as the new Subaru Cusco kit...
Old 07-18-2009, 10:14 AM
Tech Addict

Originally Posted by 94eg!
There are several versions, so it depends on which one you buy. The standard TA05, TA05-IFS & TA05-Version-2 are all complete rolling chassis with tires & body sets.