R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-08-2009, 04:20 PM   #7456
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
or going back to only brushed motors.
With 27t stock motors you will always find someone buying several and keeping the best one.

Then, various brush tweaking and secret compound brushes, changing springs and shimming the armature, aligning brush hoods, skimming the commutator down to it's last life to improve brush wrap, secret cleaning materials, the list goes on... The difference between a rubbish motor and a really good motor can then be very big.

All of which could be done inbetween heats.

I was using a shop brought stock motor for a winter series I did a few years ago, all that was done to it was xxx brushes fitted to it (once) brush hoods aligned and skimmed after every meeting, for a 6 race series.

I was all over another guy like a rash down the straight (who won the series), if it wasnt for his super driving skills and blocking me, I would have beaten him.

His motor was a team driver cherry picked one, geared right and brand new. I don't think he was too happy and felt under pressure quite a bit, he even admitted it felt like his car was being held back compared to mine.

So you still think stock motors are similar in performance? I dont.

Some are made for rpm, some for torque, some have a bit of both, no different to the different sized rotors we have in brushless motors.

In tekins spec profile world, (should it come along) switch the car on in front of scrutineering and off you go.

Not that much you can do with the motors except time them differently on the endbell, and change rotors. (have people really gone to such lengths as this in VTA yet?)

For any doubters, which one of the two sounds simpler??? I'm all in for fair racing
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....

Last edited by tc3team; 10-08-2009 at 05:10 PM.
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 04:42 PM   #7457
Tech Elite
 
tallyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: palm city, fl
Posts: 2,594
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

still running the same used brushless motor i bought 2 years ago... damn, all this work.. i might spring for a rotor this year.. what to do what to do.. oh yea upgrade my software for free.. thanks tekin
__________________
WWW.STORMERHOBBIES.COM helping keep pan cars alive!

Turns out not where, but who your with that really matters... DMB
tallyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 04:56 PM   #7458
Tech Addict
 
jasons56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 685
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
I'm not complaining (as I use an RS) but it is a huge advantage in VTA. I can blow every non RS speedo away in VTA allowing me to make passes on the outside, etc.
I wish it was that huge on my track. But the RS isn't the only fast spec speed control. When I set up the RS to blow buy people on the straight then its slower in the infield or starts to get the motor hot enough that it fades a little.

I've found its pretty easy to overdrive a TA on our track. Surprising how many times I'm off on straighaway speed and actually turn better laps. I bet 90% of club level drivers fit that profile.

The fastest guys usually have fast laps a couple of 10th faster than the rest of the pack. However their AVERAGE time across many laps blows the whole field away. Thats driving skill, plain and simple.

The second or so that separates the TQ from the bottom of the pack usually is about 3 tenths chassis/tuning, 3 tenths powertrain, and 4 tenths improvement in lines.
I've got my RS giving me 2 tenths advantage and am looking forward to 2.00 software getting me to TQ warp speed Scotty!

Then I can get back to my normal 3-4 tenths off of TQ pace.

So email me that 200 software already Randy!
__________________
http://www.youtube.com/user/ZenRacing
jasons56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 05:51 PM   #7459
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

I've already mentioned something being worked on. However we've had some requests for something to tide everyone over with...

A few more days for your next dose...
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 06:02 PM   #7460
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Damn you Randy! And I was trying to kick the habbit! LOL

Can't wait to see what new toys Tekin brings
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 06:29 PM   #7461
Tech Master
 
yokemad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,150
Default

I can't wait for the new FW, is there any hope before Sunday
also what ratio you recommend to start for 13.5T ballistic Motor
Here is the Track

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=374_L-TOfKA

Thanx in advance
yokemad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 06:32 PM   #7462
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

I tried taking the turbo delay down to .8 today instead of the full second that I was running before. The turbo was kicking in right at the end of the sweeper and causing a little push. My temps went up about 10 degrees as well. I'm going to take it back up to 1.0 again. Also shut off the push control and the car worked much better. Currently running 4 degrees motor timing, 25 boost and 10 turbo. Tomorrow, I'm going to take the motor back to zero and play around with the boost and turbo some more. Right now, though, the car is feeling really good.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 06:53 PM   #7463
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

why set turbo so late,do you just want it the last 20ft of the straight
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 07:16 PM   #7464
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
why set turbo so late,do you just want it the last 20ft of the straight
Our track is set up with a 20 foot entrance to a sweeper prior to the straightaway. With the .5 delay, the turbo would kick in around the middle of the sweeper before the car had time to spool up. With the .8 delay, it kicks in at the end of the sweeper and caused a push with the sudden onset of power. At 1.0 second delay, the car spools up nice, the turbo kicks in at the start of the straight and continues to pull hard all the way. Motor temps are about 20 degrees cooler as well. Maybe it's just coincidence, but it seems to be very consistent in my findings.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 07:32 PM   #7465
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

thats makes more sence
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 07:41 PM   #7466
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
thats makes more sence
I'm still learning, but it's fun to try new things.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 07:59 PM   #7467
Tech Elite
 
nitro neil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: zion,il
Posts: 2,179
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

hey guys I have a tekin rs pro and just put it in my car with a novak 13.5 and when turning the switch on it either takes a long time for the speedo to recognize the motor and sometimes it doesn't recognize it at all. It runs fine once it is on. I just was wondering if they may not be totaly compatible or not. the speedo is brand new and i generally run duo based motors which i will be putting to see if this will cure my problem.
Thanks in advance for your input
__________________
TLR, SPEKTRUM,HORIZON HOBBIES, JCONCEPTS, Tekin, MIP, ONeill Brothers Racing, Axis RC, Large Scale RC, Boom rc, Team Chase,
nitro neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 08:08 PM   #7468
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitro neil View Post
hey guys I have a tekin rs pro and just put it in my car with a novak 13.5 and when turning the switch on it either takes a long time for the speedo to recognize the motor and sometimes it doesn't recognize it at all. It runs fine once it is on. I just was wondering if they may not be totaly compatible or not. the speedo is brand new and i generally run duo based motors which i will be putting to see if this will cure my problem.
Thanks in advance for your input
ARe you getting any lights with it?
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 08:10 PM   #7469
Tech Elite
 
nitro neil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: zion,il
Posts: 2,179
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiltskin View Post
ARe you getting any lights with it?
lights are on but they don't go to the neutral position there are 3 lights in the middle that light up.
__________________
TLR, SPEKTRUM,HORIZON HOBBIES, JCONCEPTS, Tekin, MIP, ONeill Brothers Racing, Axis RC, Large Scale RC, Boom rc, Team Chase,
nitro neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 08:21 PM   #7470
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Check your solder joints to make sure that you don't have any bridges built or cold joints.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:04 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net