R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-12-2011, 09:07 PM   #21151
Tech Fanatic
 
xtrememadness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: new jersey
Posts: 954
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to xtrememadness
Default

thanx guys. i have been using a 6.6v life pack but wanted something smaller. i only run 17.5 and 13.5 in both blinky and boosted. i know the smartboost is huge but novak has a new one that looks about the size as the tqcells just dont know if it will work with the tekin or if it has lipo cutoff like the older smartboost. i looked on stormer but cant find the booster
__________________
CRAIG SANTRY / TAMIYA / TEAM ASSOCIATED / BROWNIES PRO AND SPORT HOBBIES / STATEN ISLAND SPEED TEAM / FUTABA / LRP / TEKIN / PROTOFORM / JACKSON RC / HORSHAM RC / EXOTEK RACING / REEDY
xtrememadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 06:26 AM   #21152
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xtrememadness View Post
thanx guys. i have been using a 6.6v life pack but wanted something smaller. i only run 17.5 and 13.5 in both blinky and boosted. i know the smartboost is huge but novak has a new one that looks about the size as the tqcells just dont know if it will work with the tekin or if it has lipo cutoff like the older smartboost. i looked on stormer but cant find the booster
Just go to Stormer's site and search on the word Booster, only four items pop up.
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 06:32 AM   #21153
Tech Master
 
Buckaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,503
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

The new Novak unit, if for all intents and purposes, is the same unit as their old one, only smaller. The Stormer one needs some rewiring. The TQ booster is essentially the Stormer one (sourced differently) with some pretty cool updates.

If you're good with wiring, go with the cheap booster. If you're not, the TQ is a better bet than the Novak.

That being said, WHEN Tekin comes out with a replacement for the RS/RS PRO and their non-upgradeable ESC, I hope that it includes smart boost tech like the blue esc! That would end all the scrambling to make 'em work with 1S.
__________________
Tom Keith

Tekin & Sweep, thanks for all that you do for you know who!

Associated/T.O.P./Mugen/Fantom/Spektrum/Savox
Buckaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 04:35 PM   #21154
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

I just started getting an odd glitch in my TC. About every other lap, the steering would go hard left for just a split second when I hit the brakes. Not bad enough to wreck, just enough to throw me off line. I thought it was something wrong with the car until I actually saw the front wheel turn. Then I was able to recreate it on the bench by revving and then hitting the brakes. Replaced the servo and it still did it.

What do you think, bad cap maybe?
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 04:39 PM   #21155
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 629
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default servo

I would try rebinding the receiver. I had this happen on a throttle servo on my nitro car. It was in the receiver.
mdhyams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 06:01 PM   #21156
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdhyams View Post
I would try rebinding the receiver. I had this happen on a throttle servo on my nitro car. It was in the receiver.
Nope, FM for life baby. And no, that isn't the problem either. Both the rx and radio work fine in other vehicles.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 06:27 PM   #21157
Tech Master
 
HarryLeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hampton, VA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via AIM to HarryLeach
Default

Check the RS's servo lead carefully for any real hard kinks or evidence of insulation melting, same with the power switch wires, since they're inline with the BEC output and also have to carry the power load for the whole radio system.

If there's anything like that going on, replace the leads, you're probably experiencing brown-out, even on an FM receiver.

I had a similar experience before, a Rx cap helped, but was no cure, an external BEC was a space-hog cure. When I finally opened up the RS case and found some insulation melting and hard kinks, I replaced all the wire, opened up the case hole so the wires could come out straighter, and was able to ditch my Rx cap, and external BEC. The same treatment cured glitching on 2 other RS setups that I worked on. In all 3, I found lots of broken strands in the wire where it had been kinked and heat cycled, usually on older RS's. In the worst glitching setup, the insulation had melted enough to allow the red and signal wires to "intermingle" under certain conditions.

EDIT: all 3 were out of warranty, but otherwise working, obviously. For anybody with a working RS that's still under warranty, I don't recommend soldering on it internally at all, and even for the ones that are out of warranty, only try something like this if you're confident in your ability and willing to man up for any mistake you might make.
__________________
Privateer racing lots of stuff.
Remember kids, racing isn't fair!
HarryLeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 06:47 PM   #21158
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
I just started getting an odd glitch in my TC. About every other lap, the steering would go hard left for just a split second when I hit the brakes. Not bad enough to wreck, just enough to throw me off line. I thought it was something wrong with the car until I actually saw the front wheel turn. Then I was able to recreate it on the bench by revving and then hitting the brakes. Replaced the servo and it still did it.

What do you think, bad cap maybe?
I'll follow on Harry's statement. DG had one glitching like that. Turned out to be a bare wire on his transponder. It would intermittently short out and cause the issue. Double check all your wires.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 07:34 PM   #21159
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
Nope, FM for life baby. And no, that isn't the problem either. Both the rx and radio work fine in other vehicles.
Than you're likely getting a flat radio hit. First thing I'd try is another channel. IF that doesn't cure it look really hard at how and where your electronics are laid out and where the wires are routed.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 07:42 PM   #21160
Tech Fanatic
 
xtrememadness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: new jersey
Posts: 954
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to xtrememadness
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AreCee View Post
Just go to Stormer's site and search on the word Booster, only four items pop up.
thanx arecee! found it
__________________
CRAIG SANTRY / TAMIYA / TEAM ASSOCIATED / BROWNIES PRO AND SPORT HOBBIES / STATEN ISLAND SPEED TEAM / FUTABA / LRP / TEKIN / PROTOFORM / JACKSON RC / HORSHAM RC / EXOTEK RACING / REEDY
xtrememadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 07:43 PM   #21161
Tech Fanatic
 
xtrememadness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: new jersey
Posts: 954
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to xtrememadness
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckaroo View Post
The new Novak unit, if for all intents and purposes, is the same unit as their old one, only smaller. The Stormer one needs some rewiring. The TQ booster is essentially the Stormer one (sourced differently) with some pretty cool updates.

If you're good with wiring, go with the cheap booster. If you're not, the TQ is a better bet than the Novak.

That being said, WHEN Tekin comes out with a replacement for the RS/RS PRO and their non-upgradeable ESC, I hope that it includes smart boost tech like the blue esc! That would end all the scrambling to make 'em work with 1S.
thanx buckaroo! i ordered the stormer one for now and will get the tq cells later
__________________
CRAIG SANTRY / TAMIYA / TEAM ASSOCIATED / BROWNIES PRO AND SPORT HOBBIES / STATEN ISLAND SPEED TEAM / FUTABA / LRP / TEKIN / PROTOFORM / JACKSON RC / HORSHAM RC / EXOTEK RACING / REEDY
xtrememadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 09:54 PM   #21162
Tech Elite
 
nerdling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,849
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
I just started getting an odd glitch in my TC. About every other lap, the steering would go hard left for just a split second when I hit the brakes. Not bad enough to wreck, just enough to throw me off line. I thought it was something wrong with the car until I actually saw the front wheel turn. Then I was able to recreate it on the bench by revving and then hitting the brakes. Replaced the servo and it still did it.

What do you think, bad cap maybe?
I tried somthing similar, with a different brand of ESC. I tried different servos, Rx, Tx, channels, wire placement caps. In the end I updarted to a 2.4Ghz system (from an FM system), and this fixed the problem. It seems that there is an inconpatability between the more modern ESC's and older Rx's. Somthing to keep in mind.
__________________
--XRAY--NOSRAM--PROTOFORM--MUCHMORE--
www.teamxray.com -- www.hudy.net -- www.hobbyexpress.com.au
nerdling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 08:23 PM   #21163
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,582
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
soon!
Any luck collecting these? I just checked the facebook and the company site and still nothing newer than a couple odd setups from last year. None of them have the motor brand for any chassis type and very few have rollout for the 1S setups.
__________________
John Higgins former student of The Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driving School. The "Team Principal".
liljohn1064 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 08:54 PM   #21164
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,623
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

In 1s racing, has anyone experienced the turbo not coming on after two or three minutes into the run? I run on a small track about 65 by 35 or so. We dont use the delay for the turbo because the straight is so short and the size of the track. Here's my set-up:

CRC Wgt car
Tekin 13.5 motor w/12 degree's mechanical timing
Tekin RS
boost start 750
boost end around 3800 (if I remember correctly)
turbo delay is 0
boost is about 40
Revtech 5600 1s 60c battery

We are running 6 minutes, and I don't experience any problems until 3 minutes into the run. The motor comes of between 115 and 12o degrees. So if the motor isn't hot, I wouldn't the speedo would be either. Any ideas on this?
MUDVAYNE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 09:34 PM   #21165
Tech Master
 
HarryLeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hampton, VA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via AIM to HarryLeach
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MUDVAYNE View Post
In 1s racing, has anyone experienced the turbo not coming on after two or three minutes into the run? I run on a small track about 65 by 35 or so. We dont use the delay for the turbo because the straight is so short and the size of the track. Here's my set-up:

CRC Wgt car
Tekin 13.5 motor w/12 degree's mechanical timing
Tekin RS
boost start 750
boost end around 3800 (if I remember correctly)
turbo delay is 0
boost is about 40
Revtech 5600 1s 60c battery

We are running 6 minutes, and I don't experience any problems until 3 minutes into the run. The motor comes of between 115 and 12o degrees. So if the motor isn't hot, I wouldn't the speedo would be either. Any ideas on this?
You don't mention how much turbo you're running.

How much are you pulling out of your battery each run?

Overheating a motor on 1s is pretty rare, with your low start and end RPM settings, I suspect you're seeing the effects of voltage drop that early into a run.
__________________
Privateer racing lots of stuff.
Remember kids, racing isn't fair!
HarryLeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:13 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net