R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-29-2008, 03:48 PM   #1816
Tech Addict
 
Adam?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ohhh, that guy...
Posts: 639
Default

Cool, thanks shaggy!

How much benefit is all this timing on smaller tracks with heavy cars (rubber tire / carpet / sedan?) I've toyed with it all quite a bit, and it seems like all it does is shift the power band around, and often lead to more heat, but not really change the overall speed if geared correctly. Maybe it matters more on big tracks where the motors have time to wind up?
Adam? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 04:06 PM   #1817
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Grand Rapids, mn
Posts: 194
Default timing and boost for duo.

adam,
i had tried turning the motors timing all the way up to 20 degrees but the motors(both 13.5 and 17.5) seemed a little flat, then i read a post on here where the guys from EA were using the duos and had found that setting the timing at 10 degrees the motor had more torque coming out of the hole so I tried it sun. and was pleased with the results. the motors seem to pull real hard out the corners and the top end was excellent. couple of questions, what motor u using and how big a track are u runnin on? I'm runnin on two different size tracks 75' by 48' and 100' by 48' so maybe I can suggest a good rollout to start at.
shaggy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 04:19 PM   #1818
Tech Addict
 
Adam?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ohhh, that guy...
Posts: 639
Default

Running a DUO 13.5 (Fantom) on a 70x60 (pictures) carpet track in rubber tire sedan. We've managed to get very quick with the LRP ESC using the 10 degree timing hole on these motors, and gearing them between 4.5 and 5.0. I can't seem to get my Tekin to rip like the LRP, however, and always end up going back to it.

I've also noticed, when using boost, the motors sound a lot different when using the Tekin. It's almost as if they're not winding up, 'cause the sound is kind of... strained, I guess.
Adam? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 04:25 PM   #1819
Tech Addict
 
Adam?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ohhh, that guy...
Posts: 639
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zken View Post
LOL @ Adams "GIANT X" comment

Thanks for the kind words!!! heh heh.

Note taken about the GUI's. Valid point with the PDA and smaller mobile screens getting alot more use these days. Something for us to look into.

Thanks
It's pretty, man, don't get me wrong! With the popularity of netbooks on the rise, we're going to see more devices of low resolution popping up. In fact, it seems like they'd make a nice little track companion for browsing, and keeping up with all the software required to race toy cars these days.
Adam? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 05:00 PM   #1820
Tech Elite
 
IIGQ4U's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA SoCal
Posts: 2,489
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys, I am looking for a Tekin RS (Non-Pro) to purchase so if you are interested in selling yours, let me know asap.

I can't wait to experiment with this esc.
IIGQ4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 05:04 PM   #1821
Tech Elite
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Micro_Racer View Post
Yes that is true if you have a screen that is larger than 14 inches. Most Mini laptops and PDA's have a fixed screen and resolution. My Mini HP 1000 is fixed at 1024x600. iPods and the new gen PDA with USB ports will not have higher resolutions.

Once again the software is very cool, but like all racers know it's not about how it looks!
For what it's worth, I don't have a 14" screen here, mine is 12"diagonal, or 9 5/8" wide. I have the options of 800x600, or 1024x768. In 1024 mode, the actual screen resolution stays the same, but the image on screen scrolls when you get the the edge of the screen with the mouse. It's like having an 800x600 "window" into a 1024x768 screen. IT's an ancient Dell latitude, Pentium mmx 233mhz CPU...

Just posted that tip cause it helped me, I guess it won't work for everyone... I'd also LOVE to see a standard interface for the hotwire software... while it's working here, it is DOG slow on this hairy old laptop...

When I DO slide the window open it takes upward of a minute to happen, but it does eventually get there...

At least the option to turn the fancy skin mode off would be welcome...
__________________
MARSHAL!!
Trips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 06:00 PM   #1822
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zken View Post
LOL @ Adams "GIANT X" comment

Thanks for the kind words!!! heh heh.

Note taken about the GUI's. Valid point with the PDA and smaller mobile screens getting alot more use these days. Something for us to look into.

Thanks
Thanks for listening to the racers! For the money, the mini laptops are the best pit tool!
Micro_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 07:02 PM   #1823
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Adam? I'm curious to hear that you don't have the rip of the LRP. I'd like to see your esc settings.

We should have every bit of rip or more if setup correctly.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 07:11 PM   #1824
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 23
Default

guys, anybody knows what's the specs of the small powercap?


Quote:
Originally Posted by OrAnGe PoWeR View Post
Hi guys! just finished installing my new RS Pro.. here's the picture.. can't wait to run this..

http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/3146921475/
that's one clean install!
addicted2rc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 07:18 PM   #1825
Tech Master
 
miller tyme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,712
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by addicted2rc View Post
guys, anybody knows what's the specs of the small powercap?




that's one clean install!
330 micro farad 16volt
__________________
Ken Miller
RCTarget - Capricorn - Pro Level RC - MAX Power - Maxima Fuel - EA Motorsorts - TQ Wire

LONG LIVE OPEN MODIFIED
miller tyme is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 07:31 PM   #1826
Tech Addict
 
Adam?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ohhh, that guy...
Posts: 639
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Adam? I'm curious to hear that you don't have the rip of the LRP. I'd like to see your esc settings.

We should have every bit of rip or more if setup correctly.
I've tried a number of things, but it always feels a little soft on the bottom. Any suggestions for a starting point on the RS (with a DUO 13.5) that should feel similar to the LRP? I'd much rather use the Tekin.
Adam? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 07:35 PM   #1827
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miller tyme View Post
330 micro farad 16volt
thanks!
addicted2rc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 07:57 PM   #1828
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Georgia
Posts: 99
Default

I'll like to thank Chris Cooper for his great assistance at the Nexus Track in Atlanta, ga. this past weekend. I just bought the rs pro and the 17.5 for my 12 scale and he helped me set everything up. It was awesome. I'm trying to get the gears right, but my car was extremely fast. He is an awesome team member for tekin because he offers so much attention to all drivers and he also has a great attitude.

Shawn Buchanan
__________________
Race Hard baby!
bucatl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 08:02 PM   #1829
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Georgia
Posts: 99
Default

I have a question, I have the hotwire system. Should I increase the timing on my motor as well as on the hotwire system or just on the hotwire system through the boost? I was just using the boost, but I see that some people are durig both.

Shawn Buchanan
__________________
Race Hard baby!
bucatl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 08:10 PM   #1830
Tech Master
 
miller tyme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,712
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bucatl View Post
I have a question, I have the hotwire system. Should I increase the timing on my motor as well as on the hotwire system or just on the hotwire system through the boost? I was just using the boost, but I see that some people are durig both.

Shawn Buchanan
It's preference and a little motor brand/track dependent. Some motors like the grunt of low mechanical timing and the top end offered through the speedo timing. For 17.5 1/12, with a Putnam tuned Duo motor I run midtiming and about 5 degrees of boost. I'm still playing around but I think I prefer to gear the motor and set-up the car for 0 boost and then use the boost as a fine tune and for that little extra top-end through the sweeper.
__________________
Ken Miller
RCTarget - Capricorn - Pro Level RC - MAX Power - Maxima Fuel - EA Motorsorts - TQ Wire

LONG LIVE OPEN MODIFIED
miller tyme is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:45 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net