Wiki Posts
Search

TC$ / 5700 / MAx tire isues.

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2008, 08:54 PM
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default TC$ / 5700 / MAx tire isues.

Well, I did a search on tire mounting and came up empty handed; bad search skills.
I finished my TC$ (TC4) with Momba Max / 5700 / 3S 5000 MaxAmps battery combo. My issue is tire mounting. Anywhere I might have missed with adhesive, it flung that portion of the tire creating some balance issues. Well, you can almost true tires with this combo if one can keep them on the bead of the wheel.
I guess I need a lesson on the proper way and materials for mounting rubber tires , not foam's. Maybe I need to run foam's; I run primarily on the street. Either way, any good or proper way to mount tires?
Old 04-09-2008, 09:05 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)

Mounting rubber tires isn't very difficult, the big issue for people new to the task is that the tires come out of the factory with mold release on them so that they don't stick to the molds during manufacturing. They also tend to not sticvk to the rims unless you wash the mold release off before gluing them up. I use a scotchbrite pad and dish detergent and rinse thoroughly before mounting them up. Once I started doing this I've never had a tire unmount itself.

Another consideration is that you want to use a good tire glue. I like thin CA, my preference is Losi brand because the bottle doesn't leak or clog easily.
Old 04-10-2008, 01:09 AM
Tech Initiate

What is the correct way o get the CA in the bead area? Usually the glue has set up on part of the tire and I can't get the tire down into the bead. Just how far do I need to move the bead of the tire out of the way to get the CA in enough? I keep trying to get the CA down into the bottom of the bead. Will the thin CA flow down in there from the outer edge of the tire? Is there a flavor that dries slower allowing me to position the tire?
Old 04-10-2008, 01:05 PM
Tech Champion