Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya mini cooper >

Tamiya mini cooper

Like Tree288Likes

Tamiya mini cooper

Old 10-05-2010, 04:16 PM
  #13231  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Dorset,UK
Posts: 133
Default

Originally Posted by tony gray
A standard M03/05 has a 5.8:1 ratio with a 20t pinion.
However...if you've got the speed-tuned gear set I have no idea what ratio they are.

I think you'll struggle to get info on ESC setting as I think your club is the only one in the world running such a weird motor combo in Minis!
Thanks Tony i thought you guys ran brushless minis down under.
BILKO1 is offline  
Old 10-05-2010, 04:33 PM
  #13232  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
mutley001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 676
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Tamiya M05 diff vs 3 racing spool

Hi Guys

Been having some success with my M05 indoors on carpet, but just changed to running brushless 13.5 with my tekin esc. Got it set up great - excellent top speed and good pull out of the corners with the tamiya m05 diff done up real tight but it finally gave up tonight and came undone, is this a common problem? If so is there a remedy? Whats the mini like to drive with a spool in it in place of the diff? does it chew uj's?

In the old days we used to remove the diff balls in the diff and replace the diff rings with sandpaper to create a spool that would just slip a little - anyone tried this?

Sorry for all the questions but i'm just getting on a par with the Mardave and it would be graet to beat them just once with the tamiya!

Thanks in advance for any advice give

Paul
mutley001 is offline  
Old 10-05-2010, 04:58 PM
  #13233  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 67
Default

I think you'll find a lot of people here will poo-poo the M05 diff. My TA03 diff has never let go or given me grief. I (carefully) put a drop of loctite on the thread and that's it. You can get grades of loctite that go up to 'permanent', so if you want to stick with your current diff then maybe that's an option?

Also, I changed over my diff balls to the ceramic variety and with the AW grease and done up as far as the thread allows (but only 'snicked' to the end), it's almost like a spool. I actually have to back it off a little.

And yes, frrom what I've seen, it will chew UJ's.
rcnutbag is offline  
Old 10-05-2010, 06:02 PM
  #13234  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
tony gray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia. Home of rc-mini.net
Posts: 3,549
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BILKO1
Thanks Tony i thought you guys ran brushless minis down under.
Full Hobbywing systems...not 17.5 normal ones.

Cheaper to buy, and the best thing we ever did for Mini racing.
tony gray is online now  
Old 10-05-2010, 10:07 PM
  #13235  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
superspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,168
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

ta03 ball diff is more reliable, try removing one of the washer to try different settings.
superspeed is offline  
Old 10-06-2010, 12:56 AM
  #13236  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
mutley001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 676
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thanks very much for the advice guys - I have a ta03 ball diff on order. Does it fit straight in?
mutley001 is offline  
Old 10-06-2010, 01:25 AM
  #13237  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 67
Default

Yep, straight in, just remember the gear (of the diff unit) goes on the RHS of the chassis. And don't forget the hardened BALL DIFF output shafts (53217). Refer rc-mini for any extra info.....

Last edited by rcnutbag; 10-06-2010 at 11:09 PM.
rcnutbag is offline  
Old 10-07-2010, 08:29 AM
  #13238  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: New Ash Green, Kent, England
Posts: 111
Default

OK some advise please. Ran my M05 for ages on the standard tamiya pinion but eventually the teeth hooked and it gave up. Put in a new .6 module pinion plus a new gear train and the primary gear the one the pinion meshes with lasted just 3 races when I removed it several of the teeth on just one part of the gear had collapsed and burred over. So did I do something wrong?? What do you guys use for lube on the gear train? Dont think the prob was lack of lube but maybe the wrong type??
Bosscat is offline  
Old 10-07-2010, 08:40 AM
  #13239  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pottstown PA
Posts: 54
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I just got a hobbywing brushless esc/motor. I wired it up and everything. when i try and calibrate it nothing happens. When I turn the wheel it does nothing. I"m thinking my receiver is the issue. That my cheap futaba AM radio doesn't like the brushless set up. Is this the problem. If it is, best solution? I hope I don't have to buy a new radio.
jmhub1979 is offline  
Old 10-07-2010, 08:44 AM
  #13240  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (18)
 
axle182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3,785
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

My advice, run nothing but Tamiya in the gearbox. With a fresh set of gears and a new 20t it should run for a decent amount of time without a hassle. For the price, i usually have 2-3 brand new 20t tamiya pinions in my box, and swap them out before they destroy the gearset. As for lube, i used to use silicon spray, but now i dont even bother. I use nothing in the gearbox, the gearsets cost $7-8 and the pinions about the same. Any decent lube will make your gearsets last longer, but we run silvercans, and thick lube will create drag.
axle182 is offline  
Old 10-07-2010, 08:52 AM
  #13241  
Tech Apprentice
 
Butler205's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 75
Default

Hello All,

Been lurking on the site for ages, since page 500 or so, but only really following the mini stuff as I race an M03. Decided it was time to get involved

Robinson racing hard .6 pinion is what I use. Tamiya do a hardened pinion also. With either of those I doubt you will ever change any gears again. I used a spray of silicon lube about 2 years ago and have not needed to touch the gearbox since. I have run this car with silver can, superstock RZ, hobbywing 4300kV, and now back to silver for racing rules.

Ta,
Butler205 is offline  
Old 10-07-2010, 02:29 PM
  #13242  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
superspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,168
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Anyone painted the Fiat Abarth body yet?
superspeed is offline  
Old 10-07-2010, 02:58 PM
  #13243  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
p-Lo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Alhambra
Posts: 117
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by superspeed
Anyone painted the Fiat Abarth body yet?
Here's mine
p-Lo is offline  
Old 10-07-2010, 05:12 PM
  #13244  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 67
Default

Originally Posted by jmhub1979
I just got a hobbywing brushless esc/motor. I wired it up and everything. when i try and calibrate it nothing happens. When I turn the wheel it does nothing. I"m thinking my receiver is the issue. That my cheap futaba AM radio doesn't like the brushless set up. Is this the problem. If it is, best solution? I hope I don't have to buy a new radio.
Check all your connections again, esp the one from the ESC to the reciever (polarity and signal wire correct?). If this is wrong it won't power the steering servo either.

Last edited by rcnutbag; 10-07-2010 at 05:34 PM.
rcnutbag is offline  
Old 10-07-2010, 05:34 PM
  #13245  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
superspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,168
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

This body is re-release, yeehaw

superspeed is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.