R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-24-2003, 11:36 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 85
Default Electronics question:

If I wanted to switch to another radio that I have, can I just swap out the receiver OR do I have to swap out the servos too?

Specifics: TC3 RTR came with a crappy hitec. I want to use my Futaba radio. Can I, or do I have to switch to the Futaba servos also?
RoadRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2003, 12:12 AM   #2
Super Moderator
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

No, as long as the reciever plugs on the servo are set with the correct wiring pattern(which they commonly are nowadays), you can leave that servo in there if you like & it should just plug directly into the different reciever. Just be sure to test it on a stand before you put the car down to run after changing everything out you want(you can never be too careful)....
__________________
Bob Seay
Tamiya TRF417, TA05v.2, TRF211XM, M-05ver.2R, XRAY X12, Associated B5m Factory Lite

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2003, 10:45 AM   #3
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Hitec servos will plug right into Futaba gear with no wire changes or plug changes. If you want to run Futaba servos with Hitec radio gear, you will need to cut the ear off of the Futaba plug for them to fit. I believe all of the servos made now have the same wiring so they will work with just about any reciever, not 100% sure if that goes for KO, and the old Airtronics plugs (not made anymore that I know of) will need to be changed around as well.
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2003, 03:03 PM   #4
Super Moderator
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Yes, it goes for KO as well now. They switched over to the Futaba "J" pattern about 6 1/2 years ago or so. I learned it the hard way when I bought a newer KO radio in '97(had been using an original analog EX-1) & the EX-11 I bought had the new wire pattern but I didn't realize until I plugged everything in & tried turning it all on & ended up burning out the voltage regulator on my ESC(but the reciever & servo were unhurt). Nowadays, it's all so much simpler, just plug in & have fun....
__________________
Bob Seay
Tamiya TRF417, TA05v.2, TRF211XM, M-05ver.2R, XRAY X12, Associated B5m Factory Lite

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphite + Electronics Wire Question aN4rK1 Electric On-Road 6 04-28-2006 01:44 AM
Competition Electronics Linear Turbocharger Question? crACkeD ChaSsiS Electric On-Road 13 02-13-2005 01:42 PM
Technical electronics question M.J Electric On-Road 10 02-08-2005 10:20 PM
Wireing and Electronics Question Kall Electric On-Road 10 04-06-2004 08:26 PM
Quick electronics question........ DJ_GenR8 Electric On-Road 2 04-21-2002 01:52 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:39 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net