R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   How High-End Do We Need Our Equipment To Be Competitive ??? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/182855-how-high-end-do-we-need-our-equipment-competitive.html)

CaliberX 09-24-2007 06:52 AM

I'm a low/mid pack driver at our club. I regularly buy our fast guy's batts and motors. I used to use the excuse that I was running "used" batts and thats why I sucked.

Well - Race #1 of the season came around and the fast guy didn't have his batts yet so I lent him batts I bought from him a year ago. I cherry picked the worst numbers and lent him 3 packs.

My a$$ was handed to me on a silver platter with gravy on the side.

Natural talent and practice will overcome equipement anytime. The problem is very few people will admit to themselves that they just don't have the talent and/or practice enough.

I also beleive that if you have 0 talent, no amount of practice is going to make you a A-main regular.

So buy smart - some stuff used - some new stuff - some high end, some low end....and enjoy the hobby. Race at your level and strive to improve a little at a time. A pit full of Much More bling won't make you faster - but you will look cool!!!

JLock 09-24-2007 06:58 AM

Its not about how high-end your equipment is, it is about how much time do you put into it. You can spend monies on the highest end stuff but will still suck if you don't know how to build the car properly, set it up to your driving skills, and practice your butt off to become better at it. If your car is not set up to your style of driving and you don't take time to practice, practice, practice, it would not matter if you have batteries with the best numbers, etc, etc, because you will still finish behind the folks that take the extra time to do those things.

kn7671 09-24-2007 07:50 AM

First: Setup, setup, setup, it's all about the setup.