R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-12-2003, 10:24 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
J.Gonzalez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: connecticut
Posts: 2,409
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default What is the deal with GT7's (PROBLEM)

I went against the advice of most of the local racers and purchased a gt7 as I have always had good luck with Novak products.

Well not this time.

Many local racers stated they were having glitching.performance problems and total melt downs were common.

I assumed that the product has now been out long enough that they would have worked out the bugs.

I put the speedo in my car and it glitched like never before and the car had poor performance...well I swithced electronics around, changed recv, change motors..still glitched.

Funny thing is the new factory driver for Novak had same problems and pulled speedo out of his car and switched it for another makers version and all problems were solved!!

I did the same under his suggestion and put my old C2 back in and what do you know the car was fine.

What is everyone experience with the gt7 is their a general problems with the product??

I sent the speedo back today with not so nice letter to novak.
J.Gonzalez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2003, 10:32 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to John Fontaine
Default

I'm sorry to hear that, i have been using my GT7 in my xray for almost a year now with no problems. I would be mad if I was you too, mostly due to the high price of these ESC's. I'm glad mine has been working flawlessly.
John Fontaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2003, 10:33 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
mike_Webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW
Posts: 3,128
Send a message via AIM to mike_Webb
Default

I got the GT7 right when it came out. Have not had one problem with it. People say that they have melted it, glitching and all sorts of problems. I have not had one. I ran 3 back to back packs through my B4 with a 8x2 in it and the speed controller was hot but performed flawlessly. I also ran it in my TC3 all winter with no problems. Ran it back to back down at snowbirds running a pack in Stock Practice, Changed out to 19 turn and ran a pack and then chaged out to a 7x1 for the heck of it and ran it and had no problems...even though I left the setting to Stock Aggessive for the Mod.
mike_Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2003, 10:35 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
mike_Webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW
Posts: 3,128
Send a message via AIM to mike_Webb
Default

Did you make sure that your Big Cap was fully conencted? I know one guy at snowbirds was having problems with his and they reseated the Big Cap and all his trobles went away. Also make sure to run the Scottie sp on the motor.
mike_Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2003, 10:47 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
J.Gonzalez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: connecticut
Posts: 2,409
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mike_Webb
Did you make sure that your Big Cap was fully conencted? I know one guy at snowbirds was having problems with his and they reseated the Big Cap and all his trobles went away. Also make sure to run the Scottie sp on the motor.
I always run all capacitors and diodes...when you say reseated the cap what do you mean...just resolder it as it comes factory installed.
J.Gonzalez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2003, 10:49 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
mike_Webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW
Posts: 3,128
Send a message via AIM to mike_Webb
Default

I guess... All I know is that they messed around with the cap and either reseated it or re-soldered it. I put a plug on mine when I got it so that if I wanted to run a smaller cap I could.
mike_Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2003, 10:57 AM   #7
CGR
Tech Regular
 
CGR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 384
Default

I have 2 of them and they both work great.
CGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2003, 12:36 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
komkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germantown, America
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to komkit Send a message via AIM to komkit Send a message via Yahoo to komkit
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mike_Webb
I guess... All I know is that they messed around with the cap and either reseated it or re-soldered it. I put a plug on mine when I got it so that if I wanted to run a smaller cap I could.

Webb, I think the latest GT7 come with Pwr Cap installed. The other end of the wires are inside the case.

My GT7 came with factory Pwr cap installed and the casing is the old solid Orange colour not the see-thru one.
__________________
CFX Paintworks - The Track
komkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2003, 12:42 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
ottoman's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 2,761
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I saw my friends GT7 melt down... looked pretty cool... problem was it was a replcement for his first one. That one kept shutting off if you hit a corner dot. I have seen a couple others with problems also. I am going to wait a little longer untill I hear they worked out the early problems before I buy one.
ottoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2003, 12:47 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
komkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germantown, America
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to komkit Send a message via AIM to komkit Send a message via Yahoo to komkit
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mike_Webb
I got the GT7 right when it came out. Have not had one problem with it. People say that they have melted it, glitching and all sorts of problems. I have not had one. I ran 3 back to back packs through my B4 with a 8x2 in it and the speed controller was hot but performed flawlessly. I also ran it in my TC3 all winter with no problems. Ran it back to back down at snowbirds running a pack in Stock Practice, Changed out to 19 turn and ran a pack and then chaged out to a 7x1 for the heck of it and ran it and had no problems...even though I left the setting to Stock Aggessive for the Mod.

I am with you Webb, I have seen Andrew Gray pushing the envelop on his GT7 with 8X1, 7X1. I never saw he having any problems.. In fact 8X1 and 7X1 is all he's run.

I too, I am been using Novak since 1997, never have a problem.
__________________
CFX Paintworks - The Track
komkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2003, 01:50 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
J.Gonzalez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: connecticut
Posts: 2,409
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

who knows maybe mine was just a dud....It always a big let down when you purchase a new product and it does not work correctly.
J.Gonzalez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2003, 03:35 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,964
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The only problem i seem to have with the GT7 is how SMOOOOTH it is! You have to run an agressive profile and a single wind to feel like the car has any balls. Mine gets "warm"... but have yet to glitch or "flame out" with one. Actually seems to make the TC3 an easier car to drive..as agressive as it can be. Just my .02

- Dave
__________________
...you better run like im booger flickin...
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2003, 03:47 PM   #13
Tech Champion
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CGR
I have 2 of them and they both work great.

Same here not one problem to this day and I run some Hot winds too 7x1 & 6x2 without a single problem
thinking about getting one more for my B4

-Dave
__________________
Ȼ4.5 Centro+α ◊ TRF 501ӽ ◊ TRF 502ӽs ◊ TRF 503 ◊ TRF 511 ◊ TRF 201ӽr ◊ TRF 211ӽ
B5m ◊ T5m ◊SC5m ◊ B64deez nutz
Speedway PAL ◊ SDRC ◊ Shop UFO ◊ SMC
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2003, 03:53 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Norman AR.
Posts: 1,954
Send a message via AIM to ZER01
Default

You could have missed a step in programming the ESC to the radio. Both of my GT7's work great.
ZER01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2003, 04:53 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
Neil Rabara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lone Star
Posts: 4,821
Default

I've lost count of all the GT-7's that melted here at SoCal. The advantage that we have here is that Bob Novak and Tyree Phillips race here and we have the factory support from them directly. Brian Kinwald melted a couple, Andrew Gray (before he left) melted one, and a couple other factory guys I've heard about but not actually seen melted some also. If you get a chance to look at Brian Kinwald's car, you'll see his elaborate setup to cool his GT7. Novak is a great company and I use their chargers, but I do have reservations on this particular speedo.
Neil Rabara is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 Novak GT7's for sale, 2 used and 1 new JLinney R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 06-28-2008 06:25 AM
Buying Novak GT7's nyx Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-06-2007 05:05 PM
GT7's inman59 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 11-22-2006 06:53 AM
(3) Novak GT7's For sale R/C Anonymous R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 05-31-2005 08:35 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:50 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net