R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   What is the deal with GT7's (PROBLEM) (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/18088-what-deal-gt7s-problem.html)

StephenSobottka 05-12-2003 05:33 PM

I have been using a gt7 in my xray for about 6 months now. It works awesome. I never experienced any glitching or ne faulty things happen to it. Ive ran 9x2 thru stocks on it. Ive heard all kinds of things about all speedos lately. I think some of the problem is what type of people are using the product. Im not saying people are stupid and shouldnt have one or arent good enough to have one, but everyone makes a mistake soldering a motor or pack in. Maybe these times it has been a gt7 by coincidence. This is my personal view on the subject.

KINGZJ 05-12-2003 07:59 PM

Novak has come out with an update for the gt7. If you are using regular shotky diodes you need to use as many as 4 of them to protect the speedo otherwise novak has come out with a new diod thingy that replaces the shotky and protects the speedo. If you don't have your speedo setup like this you might run into problems. I guess this is the cause of most of the problems with the gt7.

rc-zombies 05-12-2003 08:50 PM

I've got one on my SD and Xray EVO2 never had a single problem. Thinking of getting a third for my F201.

Jay Dub 05-12-2003 10:21 PM

I have not ran Novak products for many years, Because I had problems in the past. But recently something possesed me to purchase a GT7 and I was pleasantly surprised -for a week, and then it smoked. No reason, I just turned it on and POOF. I had run about 10 batteries thru it, nothing different than before. I am very dissapointed. I guess I am going to send it back to get it fixed, and then pawn it off on some poor shmuck because I know I can't trust these products. I will never spend my hard earned money on the orange again.

Carbon_Fibre3 05-12-2003 10:24 PM