Community
Wiki Posts
Search

New to X-ray, got some questions.

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2007, 02:51 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default New to X-ray, got some questions.

Well first off some stupid questions, I have an Xray T2 TC, I'm brand new to the hobby so bare with me, I plan on racing stock first I already have a GTB system so I plan on getting a 13.5. BL novak motor for stock racing, might as well run BL if I have the capability to do it. I've been looking at getting tools and well I thought, well all my screws on my Xray are 2.0mm so why should I bother getting a whole tool set, so my only real question right now is, are all the screws on the T2 2.0mm if not what other sizes should I be getting. Second, should I install roll bars? Some of the setups I see have them but I was at the race track today and nobody seemed to be running any cars with roll bars. Ok and now for a general question, when I've been looking around for hex drivers everyone tells me get titanium or steel so I look around and find all the common RC hex drivers and what not, well I was at homedepot yesterday in the tool department, not for hex drivers, but I decided to stop and look and low and behold they have high quality steel hex keys, granted none with handles which is a bit of a disadvantage, but they are a lot cheaper, now I'm not looking for a flame answer or a stupid well use it then and see how it goes answer, I'm looking for a good straight forward ppl don't use them because of X, I don't mind spending 30 bucks on a set of tools but I would mind it if I can get a set that would work just as well for 8.

Also I'm looking at purchasing a Spektrum dx2.0 system, definately not top of the line for spektrum but then I'm just starting, any big minuses on this system?
Old 09-02-2007, 02:53 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)

Just get a full set of hex tools, 1.5mm, 2mm, 2.5mm and 3mm.

You will need atleast the 1.5mm and 2mm (use the 1.5mm for pinion gears).