R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-25-2001, 08:49 AM   #31
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JeffC
Anybody know how long it usually takes Novak to repair an ESC? My CycloneTC died tonight... My first instinct was to have a funeral, with the toilet as it's grave, but then somebody told me it'd be cheaper to just get it fixed. lol... I'll take his advice.
Jeff - Send it in, and have them send you a refurbished one ( option #2 i think... my TC2 didnt come with a service card... im just thinking back to the old days of SuperRooster ) It was about $25+ shipping when i had my SuperRooster done, you get it back faster ( within a week for me ), and it might cost less. I think it is $15 just for novak to open the case, then you add anything that is toast to that.

Novak Service rocks, they really do.. They even pealed the sticker off my ESC & put it in a little baggie for me. Now isnt that cool?

Charlie - If i would ever need to send my TC2 in... can i just use the Service card from the novak website?
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2001, 01:18 PM   #32
Tech Champion
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,044
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by OSherman
OOHHhhhhh!!! QUANTUM
Hehe... OSherman saw my Quantum go up in a big ball of smoke and flames at the Hi-Tec race.... was not pretty!
Glad to say that after sending out the esc on monday, LRP sent me a brand new one back to me by friday... Now that's service.
So don't worry bout that smoke I saw coming off your quantum OSherman...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2001, 02:51 PM   #33
Tech Adept
 
TC3Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Socal
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to TC3Racer
Default

good thing I read this post. I was thinking of getting a quantom in the somewhat near future. I think I will stick with my atom or get a TC2.
TC3Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2001, 05:44 PM   #34
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

TC3racer - According to LRP's engineers, the unit will get hot. They claim that is good, saying that the case will get hot, keeping the FET's cool. But they have been having problems with some blowing. I have heard many stories about them smoking after a couple runs.

I would just get a TC2, I love mine. Orange Rocks
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2001, 05:57 PM   #35
Tech Adept
 
TC3Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Socal
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to TC3Racer
Default

Remind me again what the FET's are. I hear that alot but cant seem to place it.
TC3Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2001, 06:03 PM   #36
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Its part of the electronics inside the speedo.
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2001, 06:12 PM   #37
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

i know this question has been asked many times, but one more won't hurt...

i have been thinking getting a new ESC for my F103, and i m thinking about getting a;
LRP V7.1
Novak C2

which one is better

I want to get one ESC that is very reliable

Thanx in advance...!!~
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2001, 06:25 PM   #38
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

I would go with the C2. With the C2, you have external solder points. If you don't hardwire... get the LRP.

I have the TC2, and it has been awesome. 3 pre-programed modes, and all the goodies all wraped in one little orange box

My only dislike is the orange box never had a ribbon on it lol
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2001, 07:40 PM   #39
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: IL
Posts: 38
Default

FET's are the heart and guts of the speed control. FET stands for "field effect transistor." These transistors turn the power on and off to the motor. Thus making the vehicle accelerate more smoothly than the old 3-speed mechanical speed controls. They turn the power on and off at extremely fast speeds (depending on the Frequency the ESC operates at). The higher the freq. the smooth the throttle feels and the better run time you get. With the more accelerating and braking you do the more the FET's switch on and off, making the speed control run hotter. On long fast tracks heat sinks are not always needed, but on short tracks with many turns heat sinks act as insurance for your speed control.
Dreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2001, 07:43 PM   #40
Tech Elite
 
mike_Webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SOMEWHERE OVER THE RAINBOW
Posts: 3,128
Send a message via AIM to mike_Webb
Default

Are you guys using the Cap that you are suppose to be using? My friend has a Quantum and has not had any problems and is running a Fantom 7x1 in his XXX-S putting maybe 5-6 runs a day on it and he has had no problems. I just bought one and hope to get it on Monday. There are also 3 or 4 guys at my track that have them that run Mod and they have no problems. One guy was not running a Cap and using a 8x2 TI motor and it would get hot but once he put the Cap on it the Speed Controller got a little cooler but they have not had any problems.

Mike Webb
mike_Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2001, 03:24 PM   #41
Tech Elite
 
Taz_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Santa Rosa CA
Posts: 2,584
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TC3Racer
I have experience with a novak blowing up. long story. Hey guys, my lhs sells quantoms for 150.
where this lhs at?
__________________
Jake's Performance Hobbies http://www.jphracing.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/757500284356171 Facebook Group for Pro 10
Taz_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2001, 05:39 PM   #42
Tech Adept
 
TC3Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Socal
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to TC3Racer
Default

its www.socalrc.com in the store section.
TC3Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2001, 06:33 PM   #43
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Wink

$160 at Hobby people.

http://www.hobbypeople.net/prdcls/elefesc01.htm
fatdoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2001, 06:45 PM   #44
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dreamer
FET's are the heart and guts of the speed control. FET stands for "field effect transistor."
Hey dreamer.... Were you still there today when my #2 GM3 blew up... lol...
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2001, 09:33 PM   #45
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: IL
Posts: 38
Default

Man that sucks. Last lap and smoking pours out of your car just before the finish line. Some other guy blew his GM3 today also. Saw him at HobbyTown, he was going to send it back or something. Jeremy said a lot of GM3 having been doing that. Two arms in two weeks I'd try a P2K, MVP, or one of those Pilot stockers.
Dreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum mig rod Electric Off-Road 1 01-05-2008 05:23 PM
hi i need help and im new to the forum racer4 Rookie Zone 4 01-21-2007 02:37 PM
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 08:06 AM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 09:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:44 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net