R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   Novak SS13.5 B/L gearing question, for T2 (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/147756-novak-ss13-5-b-l-gearing-question-t2.html)

fullsyzz 02-03-2007 02:51 AM

Novak SS13.5 B/L gearing question, for T2

I'm new to Onroad and need some assistance. I was running my brand new T2R on our local carpet track today and fried my Novak brushless SS13.5 motor. I ran it through several packs yesterday, and it ran cool the whole time. Today, burned up on the second pack. Car is T2R, running on 26mm foams, LRP Sphere Competition Speedo, 24/84 gearing. The shop had a 13.5 so I replaced it, and dropped the pinion to a 22, and put an integy fan on the motor. The new motor is still running, but seemed to be running too hot still for only running for 7 minutes. I kept a close eye on it and it temped at 177 after 5 minutes, not bad, but it was hotter at times. Now, I know gearing depends on more things I can list, but I was hoping I could get some recommendations and/or info on what you guys are running for gearing with the Novak SS13.5 brushless motor in your T2. Thanks in advance for the help, this is my first venture in onroad after 18 years of Nitro offroad, and so far I'm loving it.

Turtlemaster 02-03-2007 04:59 AM

don't have a T2 so not sure what that gearing final ratio is, in my YOkOMO i run a final of 5.4, the bigger the spur the better, i don't run a fan on the speedo, the motor temp is 125-130 degrees, also no fan on motor,

UN4RACING 02-03-2007 05:09 AM

Two of us at our track have burned up 4300's. We were both running shpere's. Try another speedo if it happens again? I'm running the GTB, and hav'nt had trouble sense.
Gear it to 120 to 140 but 130 is better.