Community
Wiki Posts
Search

A Possessed R/C Car !!!

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2003, 06:45 AM
Tech Rookie

Unhappy A Possessed R/C Car !!!

Hi, I am a newbie in the world of R/C Cars and recently put together my forst electric kit, it was a Tamiya Porsche GT3. However something strange happened the other day when i inserted the cell for the first time.

As soon as I plugged in my 7.2 v cell the motor started running and the wheels started to turn like crazy. The on/off switch in the car had no effect and neither did my 2 channel Futaba radio. I couldnt put the car on the floor beacuse it raced off and hit the wall. I had NO control, it was as if the car was possessed.

Can anyone tell me what could be causing this ? a faulty servo ? receiver or switch ? or is it something that I've done wrong?

Your help would be so much appreciated

Thanks
Old 01-06-2003, 07:18 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

If you are using the included mechanical speed controler that could be the problem. To fix that you have to disconnect the motor wires and set the throtle trim on your radio.
Old 01-06-2003, 07:24 AM
Tech Rookie

you may want to check if your motor leads are hooked up right,
check to see if your throttle setting is correct on you raido, or
check to see if our esc is set right
Old 01-06-2003, 07:40 AM
Tech Rookie

Throttle settings !

Thanks for the advice guys, and excuse the ignorance, but
"How can I adjust the throttle settings/trim on the radio? once I disconnect the motor?"

Is there some schematic/instructions I can look at/read?
my original instructions were in japanese and so I built the car up by looking at the pictures soo I may have wired up the motor wrong or something?

If it helps, the chassis I am working with is a TA-02SW chassis
Old 01-06-2003, 07:42 AM
Tech Rookie

Default esc

Bob,

What is the esc ? how can I check this.... ! Sorry again for my ignorance!

Iladio
Old 01-06-2003, 09:38 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)