R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-10-2006, 07:23 PM   #16
Tech Fanatic
 
James35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 750
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I think many companies don't realize how many potential customers they are losing when they have no pictures and/or decent descriptions of the product. Take the new Integy 36 amp power supply for example. Enjoy the picture, because that's all you get. Sorry for venting, but it really "gets my goat" when companies are so lazy like this.
James35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 07:27 PM   #17
Tech Regular
 
RH Customs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NW Houston, Texas
Posts: 395
Send a message via AIM to RH Customs Send a message via Yahoo to RH Customs
Default

Well I'm running just a an ICE charger, but I'll be running two chargers soon. A Duratrax ICE and an Orion Advantage w/ LiPo. At this time I'm running a Integy 10amp/13.5 max psu, so I'm wanting to keep it light. Also I'm also trying to spend less than $150.

Thanks
RH
RH Customs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 07:35 PM   #18
Tech Master
 
James's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,196
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I run a powertech (from jaycar) MP-3088 (25A, 30A peak), has volt/amp meter on front, multiple outputs, adjustable voltage, etc. but because it's a regulated unit, it's pretty big, and heavy.

I want to get a smaller unit, but all small psu's are generally switched mode, and "crap".

I'm considering the much more worlds 24A PSU.. but I've heard bad things at my local track (unit's failing) can anyone comment?

Here's a pic i took just then, here at work on my desk, doing some batt maintenance ready for tonight's racing. thats a CTX and CTX-D... both less than a week old.
Attached Thumbnails
What power supplies are you using?-photo-0169.jpg  
__________________
http://www.teamadrenaline.net/ - RC Race Results, News, and gossip in Australia!
http://www.nolimitarcade.com/ - the best web flash games
http://www.fireflyhelicopter.com/ - R/C heli vids 'n more
James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 07:37 PM   #19
Tech Master
 
Bigedmond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,837
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies
most bang for the buck get the Pyramid PSV200
20amp.. more than enough to power your electronics.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Pyramid-20-Amp-R...QQcmdZViewItem

HAHA, thats what i run. Running 2 ice chargers and a few cooling fans, and not one problem.
Bigedmond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 07:38 PM   #20
Tech Regular
 
volracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Madison, Alabama
Posts: 266
Send a message via ICQ to volracer
Default

Radio Shack power supply
volracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 08:30 PM   #21
Tech Master
 
James's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,196
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

guys,

thoughts on chassis-style switched mode PSU's? cheap... could go two of these

http://www.rcmart.com/catalog/produc...oducts_id=4263

James
__________________
http://www.teamadrenaline.net/ - RC Race Results, News, and gossip in Australia!
http://www.nolimitarcade.com/ - the best web flash games
http://www.fireflyhelicopter.com/ - R/C heli vids 'n more
James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 08:36 PM   #22
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 4,148
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Scott Fisher
Default

Rivergate. I have a 45 amp supply that I bought when I had a CE turbodyno. I just got a 30 amp version used because they are excellent units. Clean power. I have 4 battery chargers, and two tire truers. (Too much crap)
__________________
| Capricorn | Ybslow | Proline-Protoform | Johnny Bravo Racing | Desoto Racing | Murnan Modified | Matrix Tires | Powermaster Fuel |
Scott Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 08:37 PM   #23
Tech Regular
 
RH Customs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NW Houston, Texas
Posts: 395
Send a message via AIM to RH Customs Send a message via Yahoo to RH Customs
Default

Looks like an Integy power supply,except the one they have is only 14amps. I'd rather get one that has a fan, I know the one I have now does not have one, but since I'm only running one charger it does not even get hot. A little warm but not hot.

RH
RH Customs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 08:40 PM   #24
Tech Regular
 
RH Customs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NW Houston, Texas
Posts: 395
Send a message via AIM to RH Customs Send a message via Yahoo to RH Customs
Default

Has anybody shopped at Dinball? They have the TMM PSU for $139 http://www.rcmart.com/catalog/produc...ducts_id=17799

RH
RH Customs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 08:43 PM   #25
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perris, California
Posts: 392
Default

Has anyine use the LRP 14 amp power supply? Is this any good i was going to get one. Will it power 2 chargers DURATRAX ICE & LRP COMP 2?
kahuna2793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 08:45 PM   #26
Tech Regular
 
RH Customs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NW Houston, Texas
Posts: 395
Send a message via AIM to RH Customs Send a message via Yahoo to RH Customs
Default

14 amps is to low in my opinion for two chargers, especially since that is the max amps it puts out.

RH
RH Customs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 08:56 PM   #27
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Well guys lets just say for the cost of the CE, MM, Radio Shack or rivergate you can get two of these shipped to your door.

I have had one for a year and half the other a year. Neither have ever even popped a fuse. Only once did I over draw from it and that was my mistake when I hooked up a super inefficent motor to the motor master.

http://www.buyreliant.com/psupplies/psv200.htm
They are 20amp supplies.
I use one for both MM chargers and the MM fan setup
and the other for MM motor master, lathe and Team Wave discharger.

-Shookie <><
Plus they are small. not as small as the CE or the MM but close.
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 10:01 PM   #28
Tech Master
 
James's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,196
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RH Customs
Has anybody shopped at Dinball? They have the TMM PSU for $139 http://www.rcmart.com/catalog/produc...ducts_id=17799

RH
I shop there often. bought my MM CTX-D just on friday from there, it arrived at my post office on sunday, i picked it up monday. i buy loads of stuff from them... even random little things. stupid addictive online shops!
__________________
http://www.teamadrenaline.net/ - RC Race Results, News, and gossip in Australia!
http://www.nolimitarcade.com/ - the best web flash games
http://www.fireflyhelicopter.com/ - R/C heli vids 'n more
James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 10:19 PM   #29
Tech Regular
 
RH Customs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NW Houston, Texas
Posts: 395
Send a message via AIM to RH Customs Send a message via Yahoo to RH Customs
Default

How is shipping to the US? Also has anybody used this psu? http://www.rcmart.com/catalog/produc...ducts_id=16126

RH
RH Customs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 10:40 PM   #30
Tech Elite
 
Anthony.L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 2,701
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RH Customs
How is shipping to the US? Also has anybody used this psu? http://www.rcmart.com/catalog/produc...ducts_id=16126

RH

Uhhhh.. that's one hell of a disclosure.

1. DO NOT operate the power supply when your hands are wet.
2.DO NOT leave the power supply under direct sunshine.
3.DO NOT place flammable, chemical and container under pressure around the power supply during operation
4.DO NOT leave the power supply unattended during operation.
5.DO NOT attempt to disassemble the power supply.
6.KEEP AWAY from children.
7.MUST use in an well-ventilated area and temperature below 30℃
8. Battery Option Limited will not liable for any revenue loss, indirect consequential, incidental, punitive damage or other lost and damages.

You get what you pay for, don't be cheap.
Anthony.L is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
power supplies yokman sucks R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 09-23-2007 08:48 PM
20A power supplies $89 aus jd 2703 Australian Racing 3 06-26-2006 12:53 AM
2 POWER SUPPLIES F/S tazz888 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 07-12-2005 08:45 AM
Power Supplies GRB R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 05-17-2005 04:33 AM
FS: Power Supplies ctoms R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 11-21-2003 03:59 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:44 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net