Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya 1/10 TT02R 3S LiPo? >

Tamiya 1/10 TT02R 3S LiPo?

Tamiya 1/10 TT02R 3S LiPo?

Reply

Old 05-30-2018, 01:18 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 3
Questions?? Tamiya 1/10 TT02R 3S LiPo?

Hello! Can the Tamiya TT02R kit fit 3s LiPos without any modifications? I want to buy the kit but I don't think I will if it doesn't.
noslynx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2018, 02:19 PM
  #2  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: goodyear ,arizona
Posts: 3
Default

Yes, but I look for packs that are similar in length to the 2s hard packs that are commonly used,I even run a few 3s airplane soft packs on occasion! most under 4500 mah seem to work fine anything bigger gets tight!
tamiya tony is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2018, 02:46 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 1,294
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

This doesn't sound like a great idea. On 2s, with a 13.5, I've been breaking diffs on my TT02b.
Nerobro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2018, 04:15 PM
  #4  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 3
Default

Will it work if I upgrade my diffs? Also, can any kit fit 3s?
noslynx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2018, 07:19 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 1,294
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Any kit, can fit any battery you feel like throwing in it. Speed is about wattage. You can pump more watts with lower turn motors. Throw a 3.5 turn in most anything, and you'll have a very, very fast car.

Maybe you can upgrade the diffs, but that only handles the ring gears, the pinions frag too.

You're asking a lot of questions that makes me think you should aim a bit lower. What car do you have now?
Nerobro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2018, 10:29 PM
  #6  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 3
Default

Well, I don't have a car. I am asking a lot of questions because I don't know that much about rc cars. I wanted this kit to be my first kit and, even though I know that getting a brushless engine (the reason I want a 3s) may be a bit overkill, I can't order parts from my country so I have to order from other countries in Europe. Also, I asked about other kits because I might buy a Turnigy TD10 v2 because it's cheaper.

Thanks for answering!
noslynx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2018, 11:37 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 1,294
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

So, "most of the world" runs their cars on 2s. That includes people running brushless setups. Don't try to do anything.. silly.. with your first model. A TT series car is a good place to start, the TD10 v2 is not.

Pick a TT02, or TT01e based kit, one of the onest hat comes with a motor and esc, and get building! The tamiya ESC that comes with the kits, will drive a brushless motor too, later.
Nerobro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2018, 11:40 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 2,467
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Nerobro View Post
Any kit, can fit any battery you feel like throwing in it.
That's not usually true, especially with budget Tamiya cars. They still sell a lot of cars that only take rounded batteries unless you modify the chassis.
gigaplex is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2018, 11:43 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 1,294
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gigaplex View Post
That's not usually true, especially with budget Tamiya cars. They still sell a lot of cars that only take rounded batteries unless you modify the chassis.
The TT02 will, the TT01... notsomuch.

OP, buy a roundcase LiPo. :-)
Nerobro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 07:54 AM
  #10  
LJH
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 489
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Nerobro View Post
This doesn't sound like a great idea. On 2s, with a 13.5, I've been breaking diffs on my TT02b.
How many packs are you running before you see issues with the diff gears? I installed a 10.5 (Blinky ESC) and have about 10 full packs through it and no issues. I do run on a somewhat dusty tennis court which does not have a ton of traction so that may be saving me.

BTW, going from an old Novak 17.5 to the 10.5, even with short gearing, made a huge difference in performance and only killed my duration by about a minute. I could gear it much steeper with the gearing but it is pretty perfect right now and the motor only gets to about 100* so I am not pushing it at all.

Cheers,
Jim
LJH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 08:36 AM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Airwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,063
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by noslynx View Post
Hello! Can the Tamiya TT02R kit fit 3s LiPos without any modifications? I want to buy the kit but I don't think I will if it doesn't.
Absolutely, but only once.
Airwave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 09:29 AM
  #12  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 1,294
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LJH View Post
How many packs are you running before you see issues with the diff gears? I installed a 10.5 (Blinky ESC) and have about 10 full packs through it and no issues. I do run on a somewhat dusty tennis court which does not have a ton of traction so that may be saving me.

BTW, going from an old Novak 17.5 to the 10.5, even with short gearing, made a huge difference in performance and only killed my duration by about a minute. I could gear it much steeper with the gearing but it is pretty perfect right now and the motor only gets to about 100* so I am not pushing it at all.

Cheers,
Jim
Sometimes more than one set per pack. At best, two or three packs. Mind, I am running green dot bar codes. On carpet, and astro turf, I rarely make it through a complete battery pack before something breaks in the gearboxes. On pavement, I'm ok, until braking. Under breaking is where I tend to break a pinion, or strip a ring gear. On dirt and grass, the car is fine. There's some self torque limiting on acceleration, as the front tires pick up, and then the back tires slip.
Nerobro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2018, 07:04 AM
  #13  
LJH
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 489
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Nerobro View Post
Sometimes more than one set per pack. At best, two or three packs. Mind, I am running green dot bar codes. On carpet, and astro turf, I rarely make it through a complete battery pack before something breaks in the gearboxes. On pavement, I'm ok, until braking. Under breaking is where I tend to break a pinion, or strip a ring gear. On dirt and grass, the car is fine. There's some self torque limiting on acceleration, as the front tires pick up, and then the back tires slip.
Did you shim your diffs?

Cheers,
Jim
LJH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2018, 07:45 AM
  #14  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 1,294
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LJH View Post
Did you shim your diffs?

Cheers,
Jim
Yup.
Nerobro is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service