Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
AKA SCT Red Inserts - Require pre-mount break-in or Cutting? >

AKA SCT Red Inserts - Require pre-mount break-in or Cutting?

AKA SCT Red Inserts - Require pre-mount break-in or Cutting?

Old 10-12-2016, 09:04 AM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 341
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default AKA SCT Red Inserts - Require pre-mount break-in or Cutting?

I have only used JC and Pro-Line Inserts on my sc5m for the part year and purchased AKA chainlinks with their Red Inserts.

Very firm and fill out the tire too much resulting in poor traction.

Should I have dremeled cross ribs in the inserts or something ?

Anything I can do to soften them up? Have about 5 packs on them.

thanks.
hsp-sandiego is offline  
Old 10-12-2016, 10:41 AM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
bdyche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 869
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Several of us locally have had good success using a punch to put holes in the insert. We are putting holes all the way around both of the circumferential ribs, at every other support rib. That translates to 20 total holes and a perfect insert. We are doing the same with stadium truck inserts, too.
bdyche is offline  
Old 10-12-2016, 12:18 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 341
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bdyche View Post
Several of us locally have had good success using a punch to put holes in the insert. We are putting holes all the way around both of the circumferential ribs, at every other support rib. That translates to 20 total holes and a perfect insert. We are doing the same with stadium truck inserts, too.
okay, thanks. makes sense. wish i did this before mounting up the tires. will have to wait for them to break in further.
hsp-sandiego is offline  
Old 10-12-2016, 12:42 PM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
bdyche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 869
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hsp-sandiego View Post
okay, thanks. makes sense. wish i did this before mounting up the tires. will have to wait for them to break in further.
Just use a fresh hobby knife blade and cut the inside of the tire using the rim as a guide. Pull the insert, punch it, put it back in and re-glue. Same method I've used to replace dead foams in good tires for ages.
bdyche is offline  
Old 10-12-2016, 06:35 PM
  #5  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (106)
 
thecman26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Central Kansas
Posts: 7,997
Trader Rating: 106 (100%+)
Default

http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...formation.html
thecman26 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.