Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Team Associated B6 & B6D thread >

Team Associated B6 & B6D thread

Like Tree636Likes

Team Associated B6 & B6D thread

    Hide Wikipost
Old 06-07-2017, 10:46 AM   -   Wikipost
R/C Tech ForumsThread Wiki: Team Associated B6 & B6D thread
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been a member for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: RCBuddha
Welcome to the B6 Wiki!

Quick links to all the sections on the first page!

Frequently asked questions - the most common questions you may have answered here!

Aftermarket Parts - parts for the B6 and B6D

Tech Tutorials- tuning guides, ball diff and shock building videos and tutorials

How to's and build-specific posts

Team Associated Laydown transmission conversion for B6D:
Laydown conversion

Instruction Manuals:

B6: B6 Manual and setup sheets

B6D: B6D Manual and setup sheets

How to Sand and Seal carbon fiber:
Sanding and sealing carbon fiber
Sanding and sealing carbon fiber 2
Sanding and sealing carbon fiber 3
Sanding and sealing carbon fiber 4

Charts for Quick reference:

















1) put inner bearing in hub
2) slide large shim over axle all the way up to the back of the axle
3) slide axle/bone into hub carrier
4) slide small shim onto axle through hub carrier
5) push outter bearing into hub carrier

using that i'm able to put my normal male silverback gorilla wheel nut tightening job and there's no binding. in the pictures that come with the shims (the pic socket posted) it seems like they want you to slide both shims onto the axle before sliding the axle into the hub carrier and like i said, that doesn't work.



I've traditionally done the diff screw head on the left side (driver's side), but have since switched to the Right side (passenger side) regardless of transmission type (3 gear RM vs 3 gear MM and 4 gear MM).

Kdub (Kurt Wenger, former AE designer) had this to say on the matter:

Originally Posted by kdub View Post
I think I count as an authority on the matter. I always run my diff screw on the right side (when sitting "inside" the car). I take off the tire and pull the outer hinge pin to get to the adjustment screw.

The right rear is the way the AE manuals state (or used to state). It really shouldn't matter since you go around turns both left and right.
B6D 3-gear:

Print Wikipost

Reply

Old 04-29-2016, 10:36 AM
  #61  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
celt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 2,497
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Rhett McNair View Post
New Jconcepts carpet turf tires
Schumacher
celt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 10:38 AM
  #62  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (20)
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 411
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default ball cups

Looks like the abandoned the b5 style ball cups
Attached Thumbnails Team Associated B6 & B6D thread-ballcups.png  
kyleman7 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 10:39 AM
  #63  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (31)
 
racer1812's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 15,113
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Tires..It all depends who's paint schemes are on the box art.

Who's are they by the way??
racer1812 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 10:42 AM
  #64  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Rear Tires are Jconcepts, It clearly states it on the sidewall, They have new carpet tires coming out
Rhett McNair is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 10:47 AM
  #65  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: socal
Posts: 477
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Tires are jconcepts.

https://youtu.be/2Ou-nRnCVok?t=252
littleZEN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 10:54 AM
  #66  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (31)
 
racer1812's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 15,113
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Socket View Post
I HIGHLY doubt for their cover car they'd use another chassis manufacturer tires.
True, the fact that Schumacher is also a car man. slipped my simple mind when talking about Astro/carpet tires.

Not that I made any claims as to who's tires they are
racer1812 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 10:59 AM
  #67  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (60)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina
Posts: 2,800
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

Not saying it's a bad thing so flame if you will, but very reminiscent design similarities between these chassis' and the new YZ2 dirt and carpet editions. Seems a lot of manufacturers are going this route. Which is a good thing. The price point ($309 ish) on this is gonna blow away the other manufacturers for sure though. Looks like some good kits for the money. Hopefully it'll drive pricing down a bit all around.
Antimullet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 11:26 AM
  #68  
Tech Master
iTrader: (40)
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Harford Co. Maryland
Posts: 1,050
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
Probably Schumacher stagger rib fronts and mini pin rears, it's the goto for carpet tires
Originally Posted by Rhett McNair View Post
New Jconcepts carpet turf tires
Originally Posted by Rhett McNair View Post
Rear Tires are Jconcepts, It clearly states it on the sidewall, They have new carpet tires coming out
I was thinking maybe the new JConcepts Carpet Tires. The fronts in the photo clearly are not Schumacher Stagger Ribs
Scott R is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 11:32 AM
  #69  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 853
Default

Where was it stated either rc10b6 or rc10b6d is $309
Keith B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 11:33 AM
  #70  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (167)
 
Matt Trimmings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 6,244
Trader Rating: 167 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Keith B View Post
Where was it stated either rc10b6 or rc10b6d is $309
On AE's site.
Matt Trimmings is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 11:35 AM
  #71  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Buena PArk
Posts: 286
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Keith B View Post
Where was it stated either rc10b6 or rc10b6d is $309
associated's website says 309 for each car.

https://www.teamassociated.com/cars_.../RC10B6D/Team/

https://www.teamassociated.com/cars_...s/RC10B6/Team/

as they have it at Web price. should be that maybe less in stores.
ALIEN3T is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 11:54 AM
  #72  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 106
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Kinda makes me want to get into off-road again!

So it kinda looks like they think they've made enough advancements in weight distribution and suspension geometry that the added traction (for dirt) provided by a 4-gear tranny is no longer needed??? Is that the deal?
johnqpublic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 11:58 AM
  #73  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 132
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by johnqpublic View Post
Kinda makes me want to get into off-road again!

So it kinda looks like they think they've made enough advancements in weight distribution and suspension geometry that the added traction (for dirt) provided by a 4-gear tranny is no longer needed??? Is that the deal?
There are probably situations where a 4-gear still makes sense. But things would start getting really complicated if they had to offer different cars and/or options for 4-gear, 3-gear, and laydown.
Gearhead82 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 12:03 PM
  #74  
Tech Master
iTrader: (27)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,232
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

associad must be sick or something...they usually take forever to come out with a completely new car
thefnshow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 12:21 PM
  #75  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Eastvale, CA
Posts: 91
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

According to the photos on AE's site, the B6D doesn't use the laydown transmission. The B6D transmission photo looks like the B5Ms to be honest.
40yoCaliRacer is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service