Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
New SCT410.3 build. Help, need parts to track rules. >

New SCT410.3 build. Help, need parts to track rules.

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

New SCT410.3 build. Help, need parts to track rules.

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2015, 08:23 PM
Tech Rookie

Default New SCT410.3 build. Help, need parts to track rules.

I just ordered a new SCT410.3 kit with the Aluminum "A" block. I'm new to actual racing so I messaged the organizer for my track for rules so I can spec out the rest of the truck and order parts. They replied anything goes except it has to run 2S and have a SCT body. Another local track has the same rules but adds no buggy conversions. So I have lots of questions and goals.

Track is probably a medium size track. Has a hard pack base and currently (off season I suppose, I've never seen it prepped for racing yet) is really loose/dusty. I tried to post a pic but it won't let me (post count). It has several sets of jumps and a table top turn. I'm thinking it's got a 100'+ straight. On my slash basher I've ran proline calibers and seem happy with it in the dust.

I need to know what kind of components I should fill the truck with. I'm about 40 pages into the massive SCT410.3 post and still going. I'm learning a lot but was hoping to get more specific answers.

I'm open to spending what I need to, to get a good setup. If I'm doing poorly I don't want to second guess my parts, I'll know it's all me!

I need everything.
Servo
Motor
ESC
Battery (I've liked my SMC and SPC packs I've ran in my bashers but I don't have any hard case packs)
Body

Is there any motor that I can run back and forth 2S/3S or would I be giving up to much by compromising on 2S race day?

Would I be better off having 2 different motors for days I want to mess with 3S?

I'm also reading up on radio/receivers too. I just have two RTR radios up to this point.