R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road-4/)
-   -   Team Associated SC5M Thread (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road/878524-team-associated-sc5m-thread.html)

LittleTreeGuy 03-03-2017 08:03 AM

Hey guys... I'm looking at a few different cars and this one has caught my eye. I'm new to SCT's and racing in general, but I have a track opening up literally right beside my house, and some friends will be there racing, so I've gotten the "bug" and want to join in the fun.

Since I'm new, I'd like some input on a setup I was looking at. Obviously, learning to drive well will be something that only comes with time and experience, and practice. However, I want to have a good car platform from the beginning. Do I need all of the top mods? No. Do I want a solid car that in the right hands will be competitive? Most definitely.

I've been looking at the SC10 5M with the following setup.

Motor and esc- Reedy Blackbox 1000Z+ ESC / Sonic 540-M3 8.5T OR Castle Creations Mamba X SCT 1/10 Brushless Combo w/1410 Sensored Motor

Servo - Savox SC-1258TG

Pinion gear - I'm not sure... should I start with a 16-18 maybe?

Wheels/Tires - Not sure. The track is indoors, short, tight, and has carpet and some old wood.

TX/RX - I have always used Spektrum from my plains and heli's so unless there is a better, more affordable/comfortable option that someone suggests, I'll likely go with Spektrum.

I know there are a lot of RTR cars out there, but I know how I am, and I like to be able to grow and modify things as I learn. I don't want to sink money into an RTR to find out in 3 months I want something more and end up buying something better. Experience has shown me it's better to just get something good up front. I wanted to stay under or as close to $500 as possible, but that may not be realistic.