Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Venom 2S not taking full charge

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2014, 08:14 AM
Tech Adept

Default Venom 2S not taking full charge

I have a venom 2S 5000mah 25c that wont fully charge. Im pretty new to lipo so i may be doing something wrong but my charger is pretty easy to use and it doesnt seem there is much to f-up. The charger is a ge power b6. It doesnt charge above 6 volts. I can get more details off the charger if needed. Do i just need to replace the battery or is there something else i should try first?
Old 09-20-2014, 08:34 AM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

Originally Posted by bksrt
I have a venom 2S 5000mah 25c that wont fully charge. Im pretty new to lipo so i may be doing something wrong but my charger is pretty easy to use and it doesnt seem there is much to f-up. The charger is a ge power b6. It doesnt charge above 6 volts. I can get more details off the charger if needed. Do i just need to replace the battery or is there something else i should try first?
Whats your capacity cutoff on the charger set at? If it's not set to 5000mah it won't charge the lipo fully.
Old 09-20-2014, 08:59 AM
Tech Champion

6 volts for a 2S? That sounds like you may be on the wrong charger mode/setting. Long shot here, maybe a balance only mode?? Instead of balance charge?
Old 09-20-2014, 10:03 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)

Maybe he meant it won't charge above 6 amps? I just checked the charger and it says 5 amps max charge. Is it on the correct battery chemistry type and are you balancing?
Old 09-20-2014, 10:05 AM
Tech Adept

Its set for 5 amps, 5000mah and on the lipo setting. Pretty sure its on balanced mode too
Old 09-20-2014, 10:15 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)

Its set for 5 amps, 5000mah and on the lipo setting. Pretty sure its on balanced mode too
Yeah, 6 volts is pretty low for a Lipo. When maxed out at full charge it should be 8.4 volts total ( 4.2 volts per cell).