Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
New member with some questions on older equipment. >

New member with some questions on older equipment.

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

New member with some questions on older equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2011, 10:48 AM
Tech Initiate

Default New member with some questions on older equipment.

Hello,

I am a newbie so please bare with me. I have some old school equipment that I would like to re-use for my sons 4x4 project.

This is what I have right now

Victor 883 electronic speed controller
Futaba 6XAS converted to ground FM operation
Cheap standard size futaba servos (I have about 8)
2 x 7.2v NimH battery packs
1 x 6v NimH battery pack for reciever
All chargers and accessories

I do not have a motor. I have been doing some research online and it looks to me that everything is brushless, which means I don't think I can use my ESC. I really would like to continue using this ESC and all my current stuff because I don't have a huge budget for this build.

I want to spend no more than 150-200 on a chassis and motor and re-use all of my equipment. Does anyone have an suggestions to point me in the right direction? I cannot find BRUSHED motors anywhere, I suppose that is what I need?

Thanks,

- D
Old 12-07-2011, 11:15 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)

For new brushed motors, Ebay will be your best bet or place a "wanted ad" in that section here.

Did you already buy or have a kit in mind for this stuff? I ask because you could find something like a used SC10 RTR with a modern 2.4 wheel radio (yours is sticks right?) and brushless setup in that price range these days and it would be nearly turn-key. Your Nimh batteries would likely even work.
Old 12-07-2011, 11:40 AM
Tech Initiate

Originally Posted by MarkA
For new brushed motors, Ebay will be your best bet or place a "wanted ad" in that section here.