Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Open Short Course Leisure Hours Raceway

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2010, 09:04 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Open Short Course Leisure Hours Raceway

I'm new to Open Short Course at Leisure Hours though I've been racing Spec Slash for a year now. My Open is another Slash with the Velineon VXL-3s system in it. Most everything else on the truck is stock or not worth mentioning. I can't seem to get any traction on the track. It feels like when I gun the throttle I'm driving on ice. Am I just too used to the lack of power coming from the Spec Slash? It seems when we start the race all the other guys nail the throttle and go straight. I nail the throttle and do donuts! I have plenty of power to get over the jumps but I can't utilize all the rip out of a corner because I instantly spin out if I nail the throttle. I have the truck setup exactly like my Spec Slash which I do fairly well with. I was TQ in B-main last night in Spec Slash and missed the A-main by 3 seconds. So I'm pretty sure the truck should be setup right... but it handles like crap. Tires? Setup ideas? Anything to help out?

Thanks
Jeremy
Old 03-14-2010, 09:27 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)

I would talk to the guys winning the short course a-mains, and find out what tires they run. You now have more speed, and need more rear traction. Shift more weight to the rear of the truck, raise the front ride height, place the battery toward the rear, loosen your slipper just a little, try a lighter weight shock oil in the rear shocks to help transfer weight to the rear quicker, or if you are using a radio with expo, you can change the throttle expo to make the throttle input milder. Hope this helps, good luck.
Old 03-14-2010, 10:41 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)